Petlife logo

Children and Their Pets And How It Was Different Back Then For All Of Us

We had one pet at a time then and my favorite was a cat named Rosie

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
6
Rosie and Joanna

Before the pandemic started it was pretty much what I have always known about pet ownership. And then it started to happen. All of a sudden families went from one pet to a pet for everyone in the family.

I started to see more pets in the stores and people carrying their pets in purses. Then there appeared to be way more service animals, with people wanting to bring their pets into programs I work at.

We had children and grandchildren that didn't have any pets. Then they had one, two, and more pets per family.

Can you tell by the hair in the photo that it was the 80s? That is what someone said to me when they saw this photo. Rosie was still pretty young here and so was Joanna.

(FYI - I used this photo for another pet story about Rosie, the Reiki practitioner.)

Joanna was working part-time at a veterinary clinic when she brought Rosie home when she was just a kitten. Joanna was probably in the 11th grade. Rosie was scheduled to be euthanized.

Joanna begged to keep Rosie, promising she would take care of her and no one would have to do anything for her. She would feed her, clean the cat box, take her to the vet and pay for anything that came up.

After graduation, when she moved into an apartment that wouldn't allow pets, Rose became mine. She probably was before that as high school is a very busy time for students and I found myself doing more and more for Rosie.

The most difficult part about her was that she hated the vet clinic. She would scream, fight, claw and bite when there. She didn't much care for people or other animals.

My favorite thing about Rosie is that she shared Reiki with me. She thought she was a Reiki master! Anytime I would be giving anyone reiki, she would be right there. A bother but she didn't know that.

Joanna now has 8 children with her husband. They are yours, mine, and our family.

They had either a dog or cat before the pandemic, and then there were six animals for the six people living in their house. A dog, cat, two guinea pigs, and two birds.

At one point Joanna and her family had 4 or more birds. Then there were baby birds. And so they borrowed a few to the assisted living place Joanna was working at. The assisted living place then had baby birds. The people living there just loved the birds and they especially enjoyed all of the baby birds.

I would guess at one time there was a bird for everyone living there.

Our oldest two sons had one pre-pandemic pet; now one has two dogs and a cat for three people; the other has a dog and a cat for 4 people.

Another son has a dog for himself and I am not sure what his family has truthfully, another son has 2 dogs for 3 people. Then there is a daughter who has 2 dogs and a cat and a kitten for 5 people.

This was unheard of in my family when I was growing up. Never more than one pet at a time and there were six kids in our family. My mother would say, "We don't live on a farm!" when someone would mention getting another pet.

This was unheard of in my immediate family until the pandemic. So for the last several years now, my allergies; itching, ear problems, and stomach upset have been a real pain in the arse.

Most of the time, I hate allergies as I know my hubby would love a pet. Now all he has is me to pester!!

Thankfully, and I do sometimes regret this, we have no pets.

catdogbird
6

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    What an enjoyable story :) I love getting to hear about people's lives and perspectives. My parents were not into having pets so much, so we had one here and there, but not consistently. My husband loves animals, so we've always had a dog to two running around. Thanks for sharing!

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Enjoy this story, well written . Beautiful Rosie the Cat

  • Ashley McGee2 years ago

    We were restricted to only outside pets until I was about 15. Then we got Pounce who knew how to throw up in the litter box. That cat changed our lives and destroyed our Christmas trees forever.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Great story. We usually had cats and dogs growing up, and also at one point had 3 birds and a Guinea pig. Just a cat for me now, though.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fantastic story! Enjoyed reading and could relate. Growing up, we didn't have indoor pets. My pony was the only pet that the family had.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.