Petlife logo

Animal Companions

How we heal the Animals

By Ahowan ICrowPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

When I was a child I said I was going to be a Veterinarian and Psychologist. Well, I could barely pass Biology in high school because I refused to dissect a Frog...just for beginners. However, my love of Animals and behavior turned into rescuing hard to catch, abused, and neglected animals, rehabilitating and rehoming these Animals, (mostly Dogs, however, included Cats, Lizards, Birds, and more.)

This lead to a Petsitting Service, which blossomed into a K-9 B&B and Doggie Daycare. What I lacked at the time was self-care, self-awareness, and a spiritual foundation. My wanting to lash out at the world, (mostly other humans) for all the pain, suffering, discrimination, and cruelty that was evident in the Animals I was attracting (which I did not know about the Law of Attraction at the time). This led to several suicide attempts and an awakening to my conscious spiritual path.

This longing for death lead me directly to Native Drumming Circles and Ernest Holmes Science of Mind, thanks to a couple of dear women who quickly became like Sisters to me. I signed up right away to begin classes and it was not long before the results began showing themselves, not only with me but with all the animals around me.

In healing myself, I healed the "Dog House." My clients asked me "How did you do it? Will you teach us? You must start some classes!" So, I began teaching some classes. It was not long and a childhood dream became a reality. This 'dream' was stated to my grandmother around the age of 5-7. I told my grandmother that one day I would ride my motorcycle through all 50 states and I would have a message.

So, in 2011 this dream came true. I set out on a 50 State Peregrination teaching a Nature Oneness Weekend Experience. A series of 6 animal-related workshops demonstrating our Oneness with Animals. What became evident during these 50 states in 52 weeks is that in every workshop, in every state is that the animals mirror the human's consciousness that they are connected with. What do I mean by this? I will share a personal story to answer this. 

When I was operating the "Doghouse" I shared earlier, before I had my breakdown there would be 7-15 dogs in my care at any given time. Many times, especially with certain female dogs, I would have to have muzzles on some or keep them separated in different yards. When I began my healing path, I took a look at myself, my beliefs around females. Am I the one who wants to fight other women? Yes.

Taking an honest look at my family history, beliefs, and even treatment which reinforced those (by Law of Attraction) I could see where these female dogs were absolutely mirroring my beliefs and perspectives which I was taught.

Taking a look at these female dogs wanting to fight from this different angle, gave me an opportunity to heal and change my beliefs. When I admitted that 'yes, I want to hurt other women because of how they hurt me,' and that this is not who I want to be, nor is it the truth of who I am, and this is certainly not what I believe the Great Mystery to be, and especially not Mary, Quan Yin, or any other Divine Feminine representation. I believe in peace, compassion, harmony, and the nurturing presence of our Divine Feminine.

As I began feeling this within myself, trusting the Great Spirit more, and the innate goodness of the Christ Spirit within each of us, I began noticing not only my own relationships with women beginning to heal, but those female dogs at the 'DogHouse' began healing too. It was not long that I had 15-30 dogs I began caring for at any one time and there were no muzzles to be found. I threw them out. There were also no locked gates separating the dogs or yards.

This Truth held true in every workshop, behavioral session, and even consulting program in the United States. So, I took it to India, Sri Lanka, South Africa, and Costa Rica. It still holds true. The non-human animals mirror the human. Heal the human, heal the non-human animals. Change the behavior of the human, the animal companions behavior changes naturally. Simple, not always easy.

The other side of this is just as simple. All that unconditional love, being in-the-moment, playfulness, joy, faithfulness, dedication, and all those other qualities we love about our fellow animals is also within us to connect with. If we see it, we got it.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.