Petlife logo

My Best Partner

When an animal reflects our divinity

By Ahowan ICrowPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

There is one thing I believe I know for sure, our relationships are a reflection of our relationship with our Higher Power, and I can say I am quite grateful and feel extremely blessed with mine.

Our closest relationship, which is usually a spouse, companion, or even, at least in my case, can be a nonhuman animal, is most often a direct reflection of our relationship with ourselves, or what many refer to as our Inner Divinity.

Well, my Daymon, a 14 year old, chiweenie, is and has been my closest ‘Partner’ and has become over the years the One and only ‘co-pilot’ for me on my journeys with the nonprofit, the AHOWAN Traveling Sanctuary. After rescuing him a second time, it has become clear that if He can’t go, I won’t go.

Jumanji, the Iron Pony, could be considered the Pilot 😂 well because, if She is not gonna run or something, there is no going anywhere, right?! And well, I am along for the ride to wherever that may be, and with my partner, Daymon.

So, over the course of the years, the Iron Pony has changed makes and models… and Daymon has been there through other animals (a monkey, a Cow, and other dogs when in India) as a ‘Partner’ for me, so to speak when needed; however, what I can say is, there has been a consistency.

The Iron Ponies have been amazing machines, seeming to do the impossible sometimes… I could definitely share some stories 😉 (inanimate objects have a spirit you say? Lol, I do not believe so) Well, just about every motorcycle rider out there will attest they each have their own ‘spirit.’

Well then, back to my Little Man Daymon…my one consistent Partner who has never failed me, asked me to leave, or left me, even when I have left Him to go to other countries. He has done this translocation through other Animals when needed, never holding a grudge, (that was before the promise of not leaving him behind again). He is always happy to see me, never tries to ‘fix me’ or get angry with me… He just loves me, just the way I am.

My Daymon comforts me without judgment or advice, picks up the pictures in my mind of what I want and does them without commands, most the time. Many times He knows exactly what I need, want or desire even before I do.

He is always in a peaceful state, compassionate, alerts me when necessary, is an excellent ‘judge’ of character and is the healthiest little Cat/Dog I have ever known… (yes, He thinks He is part Cat! He climbs trees with me, does physically better in cat food, and always does a investigative round of the perimeter of any place we go, and has moments of ‘I’ll let you pet me when I want you to’) and when he has been ill, He recovers so quick, it is like a miracle taking place.

He is a born rider and traveler, making himself at home wherever we are summoned to go, and again, will climb just about any Tree with me.

We will, do, and are leading and following each other anywhere together. He is my perfect little man Sai Babbi.

Ya know, when I named Daymon, I named him after a Dragon that seduced a Goddess to be her companion. I cannot remember the book/story it came out of 14 years ago; however, I am so glad I did because He has lived up to this name over and over…

So, Who is your closest Partner?

dog
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.