Petlife logo

A Dog With An Old Soul

Dog Or Human?

By Anna-BellePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
A Dog With An Old Soul
Photo by Crystal Huff on Unsplash

when I first visited the animal shelter, I knew what type of dog I wanted. However, that changed when I was in the presence of a small Yorkie. She didn’t run up to me or try to lick me or jump on me like most dogs do. Instead she followed me, while staring at me from a distance of about 7 feet. She had the most innocent looking eyes and I remember her slightly smiling.

I played with other dogs and she never came near me, but she was still staring at me, watching me. It almost felt as if she wanted to play with me but wanted to respect my personal space at the same time. It felt as if a human was inside a mini costume of a dog. She was analyzing my every move, almost as if she was making sure I’m the right owner for her.

After a while, I went up to her. I half expected her to run away but she didnt. I pet her and played with her. I could feel her energy and how happy and playful she was, yet still respectful and calm at the same time. How could that happen? I never expected a dog to act like this.

What sealed the deal for me was when she put one paw on my hand and looked up at me. Her smile grew and so did mine. Could a dog be my twin flame? She looked at me as if she knew what I’ve been through. If she could talk, she would’ve probably said “I’m here for you.” My eyes watered and I pulled her in for a hug.

I don’t know what manipulation techniques she was using but I couldn’t leave her. I felt as if she is my soulmate. No other dog there compared to her so I took her home with me. Since that day we became best friends and I named her Nelly.

I’ve had many great memories with her but that first ever meeting is my favourite.

She is small so I would take her everywhere with me if I can. The times when I can’t take her with me, I’d keep her home and I would get back to her calmly greeting me, and a house as clean as I left it. What I love about her is that she is an old soul. It’s as if this isn’t her first life and she’s done it all before.

She is my first ever pet, and choosing a dog as your first pet is a bold choice. You need to know what you’re doing and not treat them as an experiment. I did my research and I felt prepared, however, she made taking care of her so much easier. She is low maintenance and enjoys the small things in life. True, I believe she’s an old soul but sometimes I think there’s a cat in there as well. She rests and sleeps a lot and looks out of the window most of the time.

Whatever she is, I am happy that she chose me to be in her life. Taking her home with me that day was one of the best decisions I’ve made in my life. Every moment with her is a memory worth remembering. She changed my life to the best. It saddens me to think that one day she won’t be here. This thought is what drives me to make the best of every moment we have together.

When I decided to adopt her from the shelter, I was told by the staff that no one would acknowledge her. She would always be in the background, quiet. When I asked how she got to the shelter, they said that she was a stray.

dog

About the Creator

Anna-Belle

Lifestyle / Advice / Blog

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Anna-BelleWritten by Anna-Belle

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.