Motivation logo

You don't need a scale

Maybe for your food, but not for your blessings

By Heather LeePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
You don't need a scale
Photo by Kiy Turk on Unsplash

2020 has not been an easy year.

I think we all could agree.

For some, 2020 has been a very hard year.

For some, 2020 will forever be a year of infamy...

Poor convenience, cabin fever, even job loss are tolerable discomforts during this trying time, but losing a loved one that should've never been taken...

Now that is a pain that is not just hard to bear- it's simply unbearable.

To those who have experienced the loss of a loved one from this cruel disease in this year of 2020, I'm deeply sorry. Truly and deeply sorry.

I couldn't move forward without that being said.

---

Despite all the pain and negativity that 2020, unfortunately, will forever be known for, there is still soo incredibly much to be thankful for!

Like the food in your refrigerator.

A full tank of gas in your car.

An ice cold glass of water.

A roof over your head.

I could go on and on about all the simple blessings that we take for granted every single day because there's a million of them.

The thing about thankfulness is it doesn't require a scale.

A blessing cannot be quantified. Even if it is just a glass of water.

A glass of water might sound menial to you and me, but to a little boy in Uganda, that's a monumental thing.

Don't take for granted even your tiniest blessing.

---

When Covid really started picking up steam in April of this year and I found myself on a furlough from my job, I didn't know what I was going to do because I couldn't go anywhere- couldn't do anything!

It seemed like the only place I could go was to the park because everything else was shut down. (This was during the time when the economy was nonexistent.)

So that's exactly what I did.

It seemed like everyone and their mother had the same idea, too, because the trail and park across from my apartment was crazy crowded.

I started going to the park every day. Even took up running.

This became a routine for me.

A couple days into my routine, something weird happened.

I would be running and just stop dead in my tracks because I saw a ladybug.

Or I would get near the pond and see bubbles in the water and become mesmerized by the wonder of the creature that created those bubbles.

So many other weird instances happened, but the moral of the story is: I gained a new appreciation for the outdoors that either I lost or never even had in the first place.

This pandemic made that happen to me and I'm so incredibly thankful.

---

It's so easy to see the bad in a situation and believe me, I've done my share of complaining in 2020, but I've also found the good.

There's always good.

There's always something to be thankful for.

Sometimes you may have to search. Sometimes it may take a forced work furlough!

Just please don't discredit your blessings.

---

Like a lot of our nation's families, I was unable to eat turkey and pumpkin pie with my family this year.

It sucks, but you know what? It's ok.

Know why? Because by being safe and staying away this year, I'll be able to eat turkey and pumpkin pie with them next year!

In the meantime, I'm thankful for still having connected with them from miles away courtesy of the awesome technology we have today.

See?

It was hard- so incredibly hard- being away from my family on this most important day, but I still found the good.

Whether big or small, indulge in your blessings.

With that, I'll sign off here.

Happy Thanksgiving :)

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Heather Lee

The name is Heather, but I answer to anything ~ adventurous spirit ~ <3 the outdoors (just never ask me to kill a spider) ~ trying to find myself while trying to find love ~ animal lover ~ hopeless romantic ~ broke af twenty six year old

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.