Motivation logo

Writing

Why is it important?

By Karina MatlockPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

Why do I write? I think I write to relate to people. Writing can be many things, limitless or limited, short or long, and personal or impersonal. In my experience, writing allows me to express my thoughts more clearly and assess three key features:

Who am I writing to?

What am I writing about?

Why is it important?

Most of my writing is for personal reasons. I enjoy reflecting on my actions and my inactions. I enjoy writing about observations that occur in my everyday life. I am also content if others can relate to my experiences. If you can receive a message from my words, it's more than I could have imagined.

I began writing at an early age to express my thoughts on paper. It felt easier to say what I really think with a pen in my hand than to open my mouth. As a kid, I was not very tactful or sensitive to others feelings. I believed that saying what I thought mattered more than the feelings of others. My mother, and a few relatives always said my mouth was going to be a detriment to me if I didn't create ways to address problems diplomatically. At age seven, I didn't understand what diplomatic meant but I took heed to those words. My mother bought me a pen and a journal to write my thoughts down. Then she bought a computer. From there, Microsoft Word was a blank canvas and I was the proverbial painter.

Over the years, I've written songs, poems and some short stories but I haven't ever considered sharing all my works with others until I was thirteen. To this day, it's unnerving sharing my thoughts with people. Somehow, I manage to grab the mic and with a shaky voice that gradually gains confidence with each word spoken, I become a stronger, more resilient person. I also go back to my original belief as a kid and think, what I am saying and thinking matters. Theres a very important caveat that I now understand as an adult. The audience, the very people with whom you are speaking, must be receptive, open and willing to understand the deliverance of the message. As a writer, utilizing different styles of writing can be a huge difference between common understanding and miscommunication.

So why am I choosing to write publicly now? Honestly, I need to connect with people. I want to grow personally and professionally. I want to express my thoughts authentically and unapologetically. I want to further craft my voice to not only speak for myself but for others. My purpose for writing definitely started with the intention to elevate my personal thoughts. Now, I think I am more confident in relating to the world and receiving positive feedback. I am also resilient enough to undertake critical feedback. I come on this platform humbly and ask that you, the reader, consider me as a writer, a constant work in progress. With each read, I hope you can be inspired by my works and ask yourself, why do you write or why not?

goals
1

About the Creator

Karina Matlock

I am an aspiring writer.

Feel Free to follow me on Instagram: @listen2Idrissa

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.