Motivation logo

Write Or Die

Take 1

By Kohl YoungerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Write Or Die
Photo by hannah grace on Unsplash

Write or Die

As a writer, it’s write or die. Or it could be if you do not write that day you die. You die as a writer. This may sound very like ride or die, but if you are taking yourself serious, it sometimes must be that serious.

What I mean is when I say write or die is that if I don’t write my writing dies that day. That moment. Whatever it may be. Anytime I fight the urge to write or can’t find the urge to write I find myself telling myself, “tomorrow or even the next moment is not promised.” “If I put this off until tomorrow what if tomorrow never comes.” And then I’m like ooooo. Ok ok self talk at this moment. Getting the anxiety of an ego death naturally if that is what it is than that is what it is is when a person can truly connect with a another human and also connecting to life itself and realizing our time is precious. We start valuing our time and effort in the things that has meaning to our lives and the ones we come to love. Humanity needs more writers.

Six months in. With vocal. Six months in with sharing my writing ability. I am mesmerized by a scene I am envisioning of myself standing still while I puff on a joint. The idea has been flooding my brain the last couple days. ‘Write or die.’ Depending on the seriousness of displaying the motto, with a period it seems in-depth and civil. With an exclamation mark, the motto takes an effect of extreme seriousness. Like anything else we want to become great at, to write and to become a writer, one must write for life. Everyday. It may seem over the top, but let me tell you, it took years to break pass the self doubt. Now I cannot shut off my passion or my mind to write.

‘Mental Freak’

I chose to do a write or die piece to contribute to other writers in my shoes. I am in both process and progress. I develop an adrenaline rush of anxiousness because I can see the story unfolding in my mind and feel the story line. So I have a urge and desire to write it out. And this is where I break that self doubt.

“If I don’t write it who will?”.

Who is going to write what I want to write about? I am not saying I do not want to collaborate with any other writers, what I am saying is stories that I am passionate about, if I don’t write them no one else will.

After writing a few stories thus far, I realized some important elements in crafting the story. First and foremost is to keep writing and not get caught up in what I just wrote. Before, I would write a few paragraphs, then I would go back and re read what I wrote. This is where I would start analyzing my material to where I would start editing my three to four paragraphs.

Once I did this, it would change the direction of what I was already writing. I would eventually stop writing or rip out the paper and throw it in the trash can. What I didn’t realize that this was part of the process and progress.

Some may say, who is this guy to talk about writing. He doesn’t have any prestigious awards or known writings that the world knows. (Note to self: we haven’t got there yet.)

But to capture that moment for I know many of us have went through the moments of becoming frustrated and annoyed with our selves because we over analyze or can’t think of anything to write about. I really haven’t had a problem of thinking about things to write about. For me it is more of getting started and continuing the same story line. This will become more easy as we start thinking and breathing the idea, ‘write or die’.

self help
1

About the Creator

Kohl Younger

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.