Motivation logo

Write or Die

Take 3

By Kohl YoungerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Write or Die
Photo by Etienne Girardet on Unsplash

Write or die

Take 3

Ok, I must admit, it is not easy to keep the light on. Days are going by and we dying, but not today. Still figuring out how to adjust to a routine, and finding solitude could be a factor. Prioritizing time needs to be more disciplined. Creating a schedule would help too. I remind myself of the saying ‘I don’t have time’ to ‘I need to make the time’. I realized how some things in the universe work. The drive behind the wanting to thrive for whatever it maybe in life. I have always wanted to write. I do not know if I have said that in the last two write or die takes, and if I did, I do not apologize because I am sharing my thoughts and I need to hear that and I hope you do too. Because this is about write or die concept. When my fingers touch the keyboard or the ink to the paper, an adrenaline rush overcomes me, but it doesn’t happen all the time. For me, talking to people that gave the support in the belief in me to write can spark a phenomenal drive to write.

Everyday is a day to write in a journal or edit some screen play. Even if it is just five minutes a day eventually you will want to sit down and take the story further whether it be non fictional or fictional or any subject matter. That is the just of it, to be anything you must work at it. If i want to be a writer I must write, write, write, write.

I do believe in breaks. I think for now they come as natural as getting back to writing. if i am not working on a story I am texting a friend and I might be telling them about my stories. I don’t know if that really counts though, because it might not be noticed or put into a story. Texting is now entering more movies nowadays. Movies will share a brief conversation or a long one considering the context of the scenario.

When I feel this concept the most is when others around me tell me keep writing your doing good, it helps with self doubt. It really does. I also think that when you have the ability to tell stories and write them down, you do want to write more. If I do not write, and I die, then I will never know what I could have shared with the world. I will never know the work I could have accomplished myself and with others. I will never know the lives we could have changed by just writing!

I used to hold off on writing or didn’t think it would be good enough to share with the world. That thought of not being good enough was a killer.

I would like to give a shot out to my cousin who believed in me and also brought me to people who also believed in me. By them believing in me, the belief came full circle by believing in themselves. It was explosive like hitting the ground running. Now I walk, sit down, and nap but sometimes I love to sprint with the words. I love to just ‘spew’ ideas and make it chaotic. My cousin said some wise words the other day and they were, “I am doing my best to keep things simple as possible because at any moment things can become chaotic.”

Let’s share our stories friends, cousins, brothers, sisters, grandparents, kids, and all our relatives.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Kohl Younger

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.