Motivation logo

Wishing and planning for summer

I wish the best time of year would hurry up!

By Christina EpperlyPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
1
Wishing and planning for summer
Photo by Toni Cuenca on Unsplash

It is not uncommon to have a favorite time of year however, I love summer more than any other season and as soon as a new year begins I start getting ready for summertime. I have already started planning my summer bucket list game, my summer mall weekend and of course my vacations. . There is just something that is so welcoming about summer. It usually means sunny days, vacations and a bunch of outdoor activates including swimming, hiking, camping and concerts. I also absolutely love celebrating the fourth of July. It is usually a low stress holiday full of family, friends, food and fire works. I know some people like to hate on summer because it gets very hot and that not the most comfortable thing in the world. but I can deal with the heat in exchange for the joy and fun that the summertime brings. I'm not afraid to admit that one of the big reasons why I love summer so much is because of the nostalgia that it brings me. The feeling of freedom I felt during childhood comes back to me every year . Every summer it is like I'm off of school again with days of freedom and fun ahead of me. Now, I'm in my 30's and I have to go work so I don't exactly have the the seemly endless free time that I had during my childhood summer vacations. That being said I still make the most of my summers. I'm very much looking forward to another year of summertime adventure. However until then I will be getting ready for my very favorite time of year. That does not mean that I won't be enjoying the time in-between now and then. I know some may consider it be silly to spend so much time planning for a certain time of year but I consider it to be a hobby just like the way some people get really into certain holidays or sports events. There a plenty of people who put in a lot of preparation for a one day event such as a wedding so it does not seem silly to me that I put this much effort in to planning for my summer. I enjoy researching what I want to do on vacation, What movies I want to see, What concerts will be happening close to me and deciding what songs I want to put on my summer playlist. One Thing I really want to do this year is make sure that I get to go to some fun summer concerts because I did not get to go to any last year. However it can take a while for concert dates to be published so I haven't bought any tickets or decided on an artist I want to go see yet but there are a few that I am considering going to see. I'm also keeping an out for any fun 5ks like the color run ,the bubble run or night nation that might announce that they are having events near me. I also have a Pinterest Board where I'm gathering things like art and craft projects and summer bucket list ideas. It goes without saying but I'm very excited for summertime and I can not wait for sunny days to get here. It is raining right now and this kind of weather can easily get me depressed. I know that we need rain and I'm happy that we are getting it but it has a negative impact on my mood but my summer planning is helping to keep from sleeping all day. I really hope that this summer will be one of the best ones ever! What are your plans for this summer? I would love to read them in the comments.

goals
1

About the Creator

Christina Epperly

Hello There ! I'm a blogger, writer and bucket lister! My bucket list has over 300 items on it. I am big believer in enjoying the little things in life. I also love collecting toys.

John 3:16

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.