Motivation logo

Why are things becoming more and more expensive?

Rent, food prices, and diaper prices are all rising.What then can we do?

By Nora ArianaPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
3

I'm mentally preparing myself for sticker shock as I make my way to the grocery store.Right now.Good luck to me.I have my diapers.For you, it might be something else.I actually feel like the place where I sense inflation the most is in diapers.The fact that this particular period of inflation we're experiencing is a global phenomenon is one of the remarkable things about it.

Hi, Vox. Inflation is the subject of my query.What actually caused this? Is COVID the only culprit or are we also to blame? I'm grateful.US diapers, Ghanaian food, and Indian housing costs.What was the real reason for all this inflation?Is there anything we can do to change it?One theory for inflation that receives a lot of attention can be seen on US cable news."Still too much money, chasing too few goods" is interspersed.Too much cash is being spent on too few items.Imagine I own a vehicle lot.

A worldwide pandemic is currently raging.Because factories are frequently closing, I can't keep as many cars on my lap. My supply is low.I do, however, have consumers who are willing to pay for my autos.There are more customers than I can handle as my inventory starts to run low.Cars are present. I can simply raise the price now.Too much cash is being spent on too few items.The economist Larry Summers is a popular figure.He has been raising the red flag about this type of inflation from the start."Inflation is much more of a concern to me."We have had less responsible macroeconomic policies than this in the past 40 years, according to the author.

He is referring to such checks for pandemic assistance.Before we can determine whether Larry Summers is correct, it is important to look more closely at how inflation is actually calculated.The US Bureau of Labor Statistics releases its assembles what it refers to as a market basket.Although these statistics are exclusive to the US, identical figures may be seen all across the world.The BLS examines the costs of many goods and services, including housing, power, clothing, prescription medications, bakery items, and dairy.They assess the cost we pay this month and contrast it with the cost of the identical goods or services last month or a year ago.

The Consumer Price Index, or CPI, is then computed as a single percentage to account for the entire change.And it's true the consumer price index has been rising steadily during the previous few years.These stimulus checks were issued at these times.Let's now examine some of the key commodities and services that make up the CPI in more detail Some items, such as motor oil, plane tickets, gas, baked goods, and dairy products, are significantly more expensive than at this time last year.However, certain

things have remained largely constant.According to the Federal Reserve, inflation should be around 2% annually in a normal, healthy economy.The cost of second hand vehicles and trucks, gasoline, and communication is just somewhat more expensive than the 2% threshold for items like clothing, prescription drugs, and education.Your phone plan is that.streaming over the web.Compared to this time last year, prices are actually cheaper.People have too much money, yet it may be oversimplifying the situation.If that was the only issue, wouldn't everything cost more?Unfortunately for me, the CPI used by the Bureau of Labor Statistics does not include the cost of diapers.However, I did discover a private research company that does, Nielsen IQ.Nielsen therefore examines something known as the unit price.The unit price is calculated by taking the box of diapers and dividing it by the number of diapers in the box.prices are all rising.What can we do?

product review
3

About the Creator

Nora Ariana

There are no limits to our dreams, just believe they do mean something to us.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.