Motivation logo

Which Road to Choose

Life's Crossroads

By Douglas B. Wright Published 4 years ago 4 min read
2
Crossroads: Which one to choose

Do you ever feel like your life isn’t going anywhere? Or that the choices you make are not the right ones? Well, isn’t that the way life is supposed to be? I mean we all have our problems, granted that some of us, me included, have more than others. But it is have we deal with those problem that, in the end, will define us as a person. Sometimes I feel like my life is going nowhere, nothing I do Turns out the way I had hoped, and it seems that no one really cares. Even though people tell me that it will be alright, that there is nothing to worry about, and that everything will work itself out, I still can’t help but wonder if it really will. At times I feel hopeless, at the end of my rope, like life has no meaning, and that there may be nothing left to live for. There are even times that I fell that I am a burden to everyone who knows me. My life story is not very interesting, but it has been simple for the most part. I had a fairly good childhood, and I have known some great friends along the way.

Sometimes I wonder why I am even here, like what am I doing with my life. I don’t have anything to show for my life, no money, no riches, and I seem to be at a dead end. It’s kind of like walking down the road of life and everything seems to going great, and then you come to a cross roads. Now you are standing at this cross roads and you have to make a choice. One road will take you down the road that everyone else wants you to go down, and the other will take you to where you want to go. Now it has come the time to make you choice, a choice that may or may not have an effect on the rest of your life. So which road do you choose? Do you choose the one that everyone else chose, the one that you know that you should choose? The one road where it seems like you will find what you are looking for, where you may very well find great riches and happiness. Or do you choose the un-walked road, the one road where you can set out on your own and do the things you want to do. And hopefully find your place in the world some where along the way.

You know that you must choose carefully, because there is no turning back. The choice that you make is the choice that you will have to live with for the rest of your life, and you know no matter which road you choose there is always a possibility of failure. Just remember, no matter which road you choose at some point in your life you will fail, and more than likely there is nothing you can do to prevent it. So now knowing all this, which road do you choose? Do you choose the one that will make you happy, or do you choose the one that will make everyone else around you happy?

I choose the latter, I choose to set out into this world on my own and do the things that I wanted to do, and see where life may take me. The road has not been a bed of roses, and it has been rocky and there have been times when I just wanted to give up and turn around and run just as fast as I could in the opposite direction. But I didn’t. I took what I had been given and made the best out of it. There have been times when I have failed at what I was trying to do. It hurt when I failed, but somehow in some way I managed to pick up all the pieces and move on to something else. If it turned out that I failed at that too, again I would pick up the pieces and move on. It was not always easy, failing time after time and it seemed that there was never anyone around to help pick up the pieces. Someone once told me that “Failure was not failure if you learned from it.” I never really understood what that meant until I failed at something that I was trying to do. Then I thought about what they said, and it all suddenly made perfect since. I believe what it really means is that if you can find all the pieces to your failure and put them all back together again and find out what mistakes and errors you may or may not have made and find out where you went wrong, and realize that your failure is no one else’s fault but your own, and learn how to do better the next time you try, then you have not failed, you only had a learning experience.

So remember that in everyone’s life there is a crossroad. Which one you choose is up to you. Choose the one that makes you happy, and don’t worry about what other people will think because it does not matter. Again, choose the road that will make you happy. It is important, however, to keep in mind that chances are you will probably fail, just pick up the pieces and keep on going and never look back.

happiness
2

About the Creator

Douglas B. Wright

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.