Motivation logo

The Cruel Thing Called Life

Self Help

By Douglas B. Wright Published 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

LET’S FACE IT….life is not easy or fair. No one ever said that it would be, truth of the matter is life can sometimes be cruel and depressing and no matter how hard you try you may think that you will never succeed at it. Life at time will be the most hateful and cruel thing you will ever experience. It will spit in your face and cause you to cry. At times you will fail and you will fall. You will love and you will be loved. You will hate and you will be hated. Life will tear your dreams apart. Life will build you up and then tare you down.

We have all been there at some point in our life and we all know how it feels when life tears you down. Life was meant to be lived. There will be times in life when all you do is never enough. It will seem as if your whole world that you have worked so hard to build up will tumble down in a matter of seconds. No matter what you do or how hard you try, something always happens that you have no control over and it will wreck your entire life. That is just the way that things are going to happen. They have been happening for as long as human have existed.

When life deals you a bad hand what do you do? Do you give up hope? Do you ask for help? Or do you pick up the cards and start fresh? Whatever you do or don’t do, in some way will affect the rest of your life in some way. It is in these moments of heartache and despise that we achieve our greatest accomplishments. Look around, there are people around you, in your town, on your street, in the house across the street, or in some cases in your very own house that have it a lot worse off the any of you could ever imagine or comprehend. We often even find ourselves blaming others for the problems we have in life or the choices we have made or sometimes been forced to make. In the aftermath, we find time to contemplate on how we got to the point we are at in life and almost all the time it is truly no one’s fault but our own. I know from my personal experience that all the shit I have been through in my life was a direct result of the choices and decisions that I made. It is a hard pill to swallow and at time I do get really depressed about it but it is too late to change anything now.

So, what do you do? Truth of the matter is that I cannot answer that question for you. Only you really know what you need to do to fix the mess you have made out of your life and only you can fix it. Each person deals with their feeling and problems differently and may have certain thing that works for them. Others, on the other hand, cannot deal with the pain and sadness and often have no hope that things will ever get better. Heartbreakingly those people would rather take their own life and give up all hope instead of finding the strength to improve their life for the better. I can only tell you what works for me. And honestly, it is many things that I have found over the years that help me and get me past those times in life that that seem to define others.

In those dark moments, when I find myself depressed and contemplating life, I often turn to my writing projects. I find myself often starting g a new project before contemplating the last one. I truly have half written projects that have been in a desk drawer for years, and let’s be honest, I have lots of them. Why, you ask? Truth of the matter is that in recent years I find myself often making bad choices or feeling depressed about life, I mean have you watched the news lately? But again, I turn to my writing as a form of therapy. Most of the time I am just ranting but after I am done I feel better and can hopefully someday use my writings to help someone else. Another way that I have found to deal with the cruelness of life is to just sit and watch YouTube. I mean have you seen some of the stuff people post on there, it is freaking hilarious. It makes me laugh, it makes me cry and it show me that people, who I don’t know and likely will never know, have some of the same life issues as I do and not only that but that they make videos about it, sometimes I am sure at the lowest point in their lives, and share it with the whole world. To me that is amazing courage! I have to say that one of my all-time favorites has to be Will and RJ from the YouTube channel shep689. I have often been asked why I don’t make videos. My response to that is I am fat and I don’t look or sound good on camera, and besides I don’t think that anyone would watch.

Now moving on, there are several other ways that I have found the deal with things some of them may work for you and others may not. I find that taking a nap often helps as when you wake it, in a way, is like starting fresh. Sometimes I even get in the car and go for a drive and it helps clear my mind. My favorite is that on a nice day you can combine two of these. I will get my notebook and pen and I will go for a drive and find me a nice place with a great view and sit and write for hours. Others thing that will help and that I do is reading, taking a walk, cuddling up to you partner, binge watching Netflix, playing video games just to name a few. Just understand that not all of these are going to work for you. It is important that you find the best way to deal with the stresses of life in your own way.

No matter what life my throw your way or how cruel it can be, it is import to stay positive and not to let those moments define you as a person. It will only make you stronger. You will have those moments that I can promise. Just remember, life is a bitch, but it goes on. The most important advice I can give to you is simple, whether or not you choose to believe it you are loved and people really do care about you so never, ever give up on life!

success
Like

About the Creator

Douglas B. Wright

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.