Motivation logo

What to Do If You’re Single and Feel Like You’re Missing Out

How to

By Bishnu BhandariPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
What to Do If You’re Single and Feel Like You’re Missing Out
Photo by Maxwell Nelson on Unsplash

"Hope for love, pray for love, wish for love, dream love ... but don't put your life waiting for love." ~ Mandy Hale

Going to weddings alone, no plus-one to go with. Watching the couple dance, they think, “Will there ever be a time when I am at a party?” Going on vacation alone, you do not have a partner to share your memories with. Listening to the stories of missing friends ’weekends, as a reminder that your weekends are all alone. If there is anything like me, you may see these signs of life together.

“Will my condition and circumstances ever change?” I thought as I struggled to sleep at night. I was holding a pillow as a source of comfort, yet this too disappeared in the morning, when I woke up alone to face the day.

Many unmarried people think so, but they rarely express themselves. But sometimes we get to a point where we start to see everything differently — and then we start to act differently.

The times of my conversion came one Saturday morning. After I was dressed and ready, I sat down on a chair next to my bed. A picture of a few friends was in front of me. They were on vacation, smiling in their faces, standing under a bright sky with a blue sea behind them.

As I looked at this picture of peace and happiness, I felt a deep, empty feeling in my stomach. I thought, "God, will that ever be me?" Looking down in front of me I felt hopeless, worried about what my future held but I was paralyzed about what I could do about it.

At that moment I thought, “That's enough.” I walked to the bathroom and looked at myself in the mirror. I was tired of feeling sorry for myself. I was tired of watching the world go by. I was tired of the sad thoughts that swirled around my head like goldfish on the fish's cheek.

I asked myself, "What should I be upset about?" I had a roof over my head, clothes on my body, and food in my mouth. That is not to say that it is normal to yearn for friendship while you are single; just that I was so focused on the negative in my life that I never focused on the positive in my life. And I was also focused on what was wrong with me - as if there had to be something wrong with me not getting married for a long time.

Until I became my cheerleader leader, how could I expect others to start enjoying me? I decided then and there to take action. If I was unhappy with myself, I would have to go out and change, do things to change. It is not just a dream come true and the hope that life will turn on its own.

So, what should I do?

I've worked on enjoying my one life and joining other dating apps to "get in the ring." Results showed mixing. Like everything else in life, there are good days and bad days. But overall, it has been a great experience because I have met great people in my search for someone who 'finds me.'

I have found that we can find real happiness in life if we focus on ourselves instead of waiting for others to focus on us. People can join us in our stories, but we can't expect them to fill our stories with us. We make our way in life. Walking on well-trodden paths will never be as satisfying as our recording methods, no matter how rocky or imperfect they may be.

So what has helped me to improve? Here are four suggestions to help you:

1. Work to love yourself and your life.

Work on yourself before trying to attract someone else. As a natural result of working for yourself you will shed the light of self-confidence. Your enthusiasm for life will come out of your face, and you will look natural and feel better than others.

Work to develop hope in your life. Accept what you have, not what you wish to have or what your neighbor has. Learn more, learn more, go more. Exercise for 20 minutes a day, try to cook one new meal a week, read or watch something daily that inspires you.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.