Motivation logo

What’s Happening To Moi?

Stuck On A Lily Pad

By Cathy DeslippePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
What’s Happening To Moi?
Photo by Axel van der Donk on Unsplash

So Many Ideas. So Many Things To Do. How Did I Get Here?

The creative mind, the thinker, the true artist always has ideas to explore, to succeed and most of all to live their dream.

You never know if the dream has a beginning or an end. You just keep on challenging yourself. Recently I was told that one is born with the artistic talent, much like one is born with the intelligent brain.

The difference with the two is the artistic brain releases their thoughts, often in words, painting, using anything to bring them happiness. The intelligent brain is the busiest brain of all. Often the chance to shut it off is very difficult. Often the individual is very technically inclined, determined to learn and learn.

Both very unique and wonderful people. The creator releases the energy with what ever they make, skills they release and than start over again.

The intelligent individual, often and not always are like a clock. Endless research, hours of research and often very perfected.

So How Did I Get To The Lily Pad - What Is Happening To Moi?

Much like the Lily Pad - I often feel like I just float in life. From one artistic talent to another. A lone in my own little bubble, in this case the lily pad. I create words that just spill out. Often researched and than put into words that I created. My poetry, my song writing and most of all my stories come deep from my soul.

Than the thinker (I call the dreamer), watching a movie in my mind is a chance to rethink how you would have changed the way it was first written. I usually always want to change the ending. Yet as I write I keep telling myself to go back and erase and start over again. Yes overthinking is often an issue at least in my artistic world.

In The Beginning

I once wrote in a book every single day of my life. Perfecting my printing skills as we were all taught to do, also in grade one. I wrote every single day in a journal (a diary to some).

It was a coping place for me. Spilling words out of things that bothered me. It became the best coping place of all. The journal truly was my best friend, my sacred place to go.

Which gave me a lot of confidence. I could not wait to take English in school. At the age of seven I wrote a story about an owl, it was published and printed. I can still see myself signing autographs, at a beautiful art gallery in our city.

The reward behind it was wonderful. but the confidence I gained was the best thing I have ever felt. I still can see myself to this day. when the money came in the mail.

That is when I came up with "I once wrote to cope, now I write to bring others hope."

By Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Thank You

Words just like in a scrabble game , are spelt out for a reason. Every writer will always write differently, yet it is always fun to learn from each other.

Also artists will work in a different atmosphere. One loves a great big open atmosphere with lots of sounds, some like to be alone and listen to music. I came to the conclusion I like to float a lone, and it is okay.

I can create quite freely on the Lily Pad, nature surrounding me. The sounds of birds chirping, the best melody. Yet, I know when you jump around from one Lily Pad to another, your focusing on way to many things.

Its one Lily Pad For Moi.

Just like the saying of one step at a time. One craft at a time.

Another as a writer is do not start writing one book until you have finished the first one. The reason is that you will not finish either. In my case I know how many times this has happened to me.

By Rural Explorer on Unsplash

Find You Place

I know where my Lily Pad is, do you? Right in our back yard or on a bench on a trail by the river. My mind becomes more creative with the beautiful scents and sounds.

What was happening to Moi? I create in many different areas. Writing, sketching and most of all I love making cards. I bet that sounds easy to many. But I like to be enjoying and having fun, one talent at a time.

Overwhelmed with other things going on in life, made it difficult for me to be who I wanted to be. Stepping back for a bit, create as you go, one at a time.

Voila.

By Miguel Bruna on Unsplash

The ability to truly be me.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.