Motivation logo

Crafty Little Pinking Sheers

Zig Zag, Lacey, Plaid And Patterns Too

By Cathy DeslippePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2
Crafty Little Pinking Sheers
Photo by Micheile Henderson on Unsplash

Feeling locked in the basement, depressed like never before. The social network became my advisor, my ambition and the best coping tool that ever existed. Lockdown may be going to happen, yet I was on a mission to find myself. My purpose, my passion and maybe something I could share with others.

Out going and a great passion for socializing, I really felt the need to find, what filled my heart? What do I like to do that makes me one happy lady?

It started with a long history of writing, finishing off books and editing. Than I took up a new skill of sketching. Watching shows years ago of sketch artists in the courts, was something I was always interested in trying.

I checked out sketching classes .on line and before you knew it, I was sketching everything and anybody. I felt like a small child coming home with an A plus when I shared with others .

Yet still determined, feeling proud of what I had accomplished. Yet knowing that, fulfilment had not been found yet.

By Amélie Mourichon on Unsplash

Searching sites, looking at different magazines. I even picked up old crochet blankets and finished. I needed something that fulfilled my heart and gave me a real meaning.

Sentiments Of A Greeting Card

One day I decided to sit with all of the greeting cards , I had received over many years Wow beautiful words from so many wonderful family members and friends. Some I started to use my pinking sheers on, (zig zag scissors - my mom cut my bangs with) cutting things off the cover of the card. Cutting words out of the inside.

With a little glue and some clipping with the scissors. I first started making Christmas tags, Birthday tags than it went to book marks. Later it came to cards.

I just kept finding little bits of ribbon and different things in my craft box, some of the cards looked fantastic when I was done making them.

By Kari Shea on Unsplash

'Breaking News' - The Nursing Homes And Retirement Homes Are Now In Lockdown - Outbreak

Holding the card I just made in my hand, looking at so many very ill patients in the homes. Family members standing outside, tears of the unknown. Mostly fear by all.

I continued making the cards, better yet I met a wonderful woman on line. I call her my mentor now, also a dear friend. A coffee and card class weekly, a company that has every thing to make cards and teach you new and different types, most of all the cards change often.(always fun)

Watching the news, following the numbers and making cards. I looked over and come up with a great idea. I talked it over with the lovely lady, my card teacher and I even ordered from her.

Creating, stamping and using regular scissors to my pinking sheers, I started making cards that were dropped at the nursing homes, retirement homes and even shut ins. I wanted to let them know that I was thinking of them.

I found my passion, my dream and with my writing, I could add my sentiments inside to share with as many as I could. Just thinking of being in a place where you cannot even see your family, bothered me. Letting them know someone was out there thinking of them, brought me joy.

I knew the families were doing their best. Sitting outside windows with phones talking with families. Yet just making the cards gave me a purpose and a reason to keep busy, turn off anything negative. Having hope of doing for others as my parents would say ,as others would do for you.

Dreaming Is Believing

As I have continued on making cards, doing classes twice a week with my wonderful teacher. I have also been slowing working towards running my own business, of teaching others to make cards and selling the products. I love all of the stamps, the beautiful papers of such beautiful colors and patterns. I have met such amazing people on the internet, much like myself who enjoy doing this just as much as I do.

The cards I just finished have beautiful, butterflies and dragonflies. The stamps have words that just brighten up your day. My mentor even taught us how to make boxes ,that go with the cards for beautiful gifts. These were so wonderful for mothers day.

Continually I am making Birthday Cards, Inspirational Cards and when things start opening up. My goal is to continue making them and possibly selling them at craft shops. Possibly adding extra things to go along with the cards.

As my journey continues I even used scrapbooking paper I purchased, started creating my very own book covers for my poetry books. Although the majority of our writing is on the internet, to create, to hold and make something from the heart brings so much joy.

Even more, the opportunity of giving, of doing what you can when you feel at your lowest. Is the best medicine of all.

So much more we can do and I know the cards are very meaningful to me. Snail mail, letters written and sent to me especially as a child, are the memories I hold dearly in my heart. Now I hope to share a bit of my heart with others.

So I continue to wake, head to my craft room. Research the needs, who requires cards (only essentials are open in my hometown, cards are hard to find). Take my time crafting and most of all, feeling happier than I have felt in a very long time. I hope you find your passion or passions as I have found mine.

Live life , be happy as you can be.

Take time for you,

a whole world is waiting to see.

All of the wonderful things you are capable of.

Yet find in your heart what you truly love.

success
2

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.