Motivation logo

What I do

Why I enjoy it

By Dae StevensPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
What I do
Photo by Carl Heyerdahl on Unsplash

To preemptively sum it up I love my job because of the flexibility, unique environment, and some amazing individuals.

It is more complicated that obviously, like any position there are many elements that add to or subtract from the amount of satisfaction that each workday brings.

The day begins with silence, which is often the favorite half an hour of my shift. I work quickly and effectively preparing the front desk for the upcoming appointments. Too soon the quiet ends as other staff members arrive and clients start calling. Once other front desk team members are there to answer phones and assist clients, I often leave them to provide upstairs back up and work on projects.

Paperwork, confirmations, and call lists, keep us on track and help take care of our clientele. The appointments each day include owners with animals of every size, shape, and color. Yes we are taking care of their pets or furry kids, I’ve heard it both ways time and time again. This is because I work in a veterinary office as a Customer Servant Representative.

As a member of the support staff for vets I filter and transfer information to keep the flow of the office going. As one of the more senior members of the staff I strive to keep the team on track with our task list and clinic goals. My personal goal is to make the lives of the vets and techs easier by efficiency. When I succeed I have a sense of pride that fuels energy to keep answering the phone and solve each problem that arises.

One of the hardest parts is definitely answering the phone each day. It requires energy, motivation, and lots of patience. Something about not knowing what will happen once you finishing the introduction is intimidating. Anything from a happy client who needs something simple to a crisis that you don’t have the answer to and anything in between. People laugh, lie, swear, and cry over everything you can think of.

So much needs the attention of a tech or vet so I am constantly transcribing information to be passed on and communicated effectively. It can be a challenge to translate a complex interaction into simple categorizable terms. The process is sum it up, pass it on, repeat.

While keeping up with calls and checking appointments in and out, there is still more to be done when the business dulls. There is always something to do and never enough time to finish everything. It’s an easy job to lose sleep over and take home with you. The objective is to balance being committed to the job and letting it go when you leave.

The perks are one of a kind. Not many people I know get to play with puppies and kittens at their job. Not to mention taking my own pets to work. It’s fun to see dogs of all shapes and sizes, reptiles, and birds but never actually have to take care of them, just give love and attention. There are a few laughs to be heard even on the crazy days.

Funny stories are shared and the team comes together to provide care for pets and educate pet owners. The love of animals brings people from all backgrounds to work together sharing their strengths.

At the end of my shift, when I walk out the back door of the clinic, I hope that those left behind will continue to the same level of customer service that I strive for. It’s not easy to do everyday but by focusing on the good days and the best parts of the job I can be ready to work another day.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Dae Stevens

Writing Always

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.