Motivation logo

Well, Whadaya Know - the Big Five-Oh (Oh, Oh)

A Heartfelt Thank You

By Dana CrandellPublished 7 months ago โ€ข Updated 7 months ago โ€ข 3 min read
Top Story - September 2023
45
Well, Whadaya Know - the Big Five-Oh (Oh, Oh)
Photo by Kevin Butz on Unsplash

What I'm Doing Here

The subject of Vocal milestones came up in a comments conversation with my friend across the pond, Paul Stewart a few days ago. In that discussion, we both mentioned that we had one "right around the corner." Neither of us gave anything away at the time, but I'm going to put mine out there today, and I'm late in doing so.

When we had that conversation, I was a mere 50 reads away from 5,000 in my Vocal stats. I promptly forgot about it. Finally thinking about it again today, I took a look. At some point, it overshot the mark by 125 reads. So, I'm there. But, I'm not here to brag. I'm here to say thanks, after a little explanation.

The Underlying Story

By Etienne Girardet on Unsplash

Now, if you look at my profile it shows that I've been a member of Vocal since November of 2021. Given that, 5K reads doesn't seem like a lot. What my profile doesn't show is that, after joining, I wrote 6 stories and took a year-plus sabbatical from the platform. I was cranking out content for clients and frankly, Vocal wasn't the rich experience it is now.

My reads have reached that number in the past 7 months, which is how long I've been "back." What's more, there are only 102 total stories responsible for that. With those facts in mind, I feel pretty good about it. More importantly, I feel thankful for all of the other creators and readers that made it happen.

Why This Isn't About Me

I've been a writer since I learned the alphabet, and I've been making a living at it for a couple of decades. I've never published a book. I've had a few dozen articles published in various magazines. Mostly, I've been creating online content for people's businesses, websites, products, and writing a lot of tutorials for photography. All in the interest of making a few bucks for me and a lot more for clients.

By Priscilla Du Preez ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ on Unsplash

Writing on Vocal has allowed me to stretch my creative wings, and I only recently wrote my first piece of pure fiction here. I haven't been doing that anywhere else - yet. Most of my creative work has been poetry and nonfiction based on personal experience.

I'm not setting any records for challenge wins, or Top Stories, or anything else and I'm fine with that. I've got something much more important, in my opinion: loyal readers and creators that I call friends who encourage me to keep writing. I have friends willing to let me know about that typo or grammatical error, or suggest something that might improve a story. I have people that subscribed, because they actually want to know when I publish something new.

All of that, to me, is pure gold.

You're the Reason I'm Still Here

By Etty Fidele on Unsplash

To be honest, these past 7 months of writing on Vocal again haven't always been a picnic. Without going into unnecessary detail, I've been tempted to leave again on a few occasions. The simple fact is, though, for all of its problems, this is the only writers' community that has all of you, and that's not something I want to give up.

So, thanks to you, I've stuck around and made it to this little milestone. Thanks to you, I've had the chance to see that count go over 5K. And every one of those reads is a gift I'm determined to repay and pay forward. That's not much of a challenge, because I enjoy reading yours at least as much as writing mine.

Thank You!

So in this, I'm taking the opportunity to give credit where credit's definitely due, and offer my sincere thanks for reading, commenting, sharing and encouraging. My writing "career" is finally becoming something much more than a 12-hour-a-day grind and I'm actually having fun. Hopefully, real-world publishing is on the near horizon, because I can actually see it as a possibility.

Here's to the next milestone, and I hope to help you achieve yours!

successhappinessgoals
45

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (39)

Sign in to comment
  • Justine Crowley6 months ago

    There have been ups and downs writing on this platform for sure. Thank you for sharing. Getting to 5K reads is so liberating. Congrats on top story as well.

  • Awesome ๐Ÿ‘ Congratulations on your Top Storyโ™ฅ๏ธ๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿ˜‰

  • Kristen Balyeat7 months ago

    Congratulations, my friend! Reading your work is always a treat!๐Ÿ˜So very happy you are here! Grateful for you and for all of the beautiful words you share with all of us! Cheers to this milestone and so many more! ๐Ÿ’ž๐Ÿ’ซ๐Ÿป

  • Kendall Defoe 7 months ago

    When I saw the title, I thought of my own piece. And then I thought of the number of reads I've had (pretty close to yours). Good TS here, and let's see how quickly we get to 5K! ๐Ÿ†

  • Yusuf Alam7 months ago

    ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ’ฏ

  • Sara Frederick7 months ago

    Congratulations on the reads and the TS!

  • Mesh Toraskar7 months ago

    Congratulations Dana! Only onwards and upwards from here! Great stuff!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    Love this!! This is so relatable and I love seeing people celebrate milestones!! I think any chance to celebrate should be jumped upon, as humans we often don't think about the positive impacts of things enough!! So this is so great to see!! Also congratulations on 5k!! Great work Dana!

  • JBaz7 months ago

    Dana, we are a richer bunch for having you involved on the Vocal platform. I feel like you in many aspects and have come to the same conclusionโ€ฆ.the creators on here make this a great forum. Congratulations for top story.

  • Luther7 months ago

    Wow a lot is going on here Wanna read something scary (Great work no doubt)โค๏ธ

  • True Crime Writer7 months ago

    Congrats on achieving your milestone.

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    Hey, 5,000....nice one, pal and thanks for the shout-out too! Was very kind. I've still not reached the milestone I was referring to...it's close to yours...when I do...there will be some aural treats for anyone who cares. Loved this post when I read it and glad to see your success and achievement is getting the showcase it deserves! Can't wait for more Crandell content and seeing you get to 10,000 reads! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Hey you. Congrats on the TS.

  • Test7 months ago

    I love how you mention community. That's the difference I see between this site and others. Congrats on 5,000 and the top story!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby7 months ago

    I really like your approach to the community and writing world at large!! Well done

  • Gerald Holmes7 months ago

    Congrats to you Dana. And your right, it's not about the accolades but more so about the community.

  • Naomi Gold7 months ago

    Congrats, Dana! ๐Ÿฅ‚ Iโ€™ve made the decision to only write my fiction and creative nonfiction professionallyโ€”which means no more publishing stories on Vocal. But I still love reading my favorite creators here, time permitting. I look forward to seeing you announce your next milestone. ๐Ÿ’•

  • Excellent piece and so glad you are moving forward with an amazing number of reads

  • Heather Hubler7 months ago

    It's always a pleasure to read your work! Congrats on such a great milestone :) And I agree that the community is a big part of staying on this platform for all the reasons you so thoughtfully included. So glad you're a big part of it. Congrats on Top Story as well!

  • Test7 months ago

    Wonderful news! Congratulations, that's a huge achievemnet -I love reading when you post, it is always interestin, thought provoking and well written! ๐Ÿค And I for one, appreciated that you are here! If I'm having a bad day , you seem to pop up and just say 'hey, keep going' I really appreciate that! I probably would have given up by now if it wasn't for tha! ๐Ÿค Oh and congrats on Top Story also!

  • Gerard DiLeo7 months ago

    The 5K Club! Congrats. Inteteresting read. Thanks.

  • Jazzy 7 months ago

    Congrats on 5k reads! That is a wonderful milestone! I'm so glad you foster amazing relationships! I don't see you much on my stories but I love reading yours, and hope to see you make it to 10k reads! ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐Ÿ’•

  • Moe Radosevich7 months ago

    This is awesome buddy, Iโ€™m honored to be a part of it, Thank You ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ˜Š

  • Sian N. Clutton7 months ago

    Congratulations! Well deserved!

  • L.C. Schรคfer7 months ago

    Well done on hitting 5k! I haven't really paid much attention to my read count until recently, and then only because there was a big spike that caught my attention. Essentially, took 3 years to reach 3k, and then got 2k in 2 months ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.