Motivation logo

We All Have To Believe in Something, Don't We?!

My Personal Story of Enlightenment

By Sharon SmithPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
This is where we met "Jesus". Down the street from St. Elmo's Bar in Bisbee, AZ.

Never in my life did I ever expect to find myself in the state of Arizona, especially being a girl from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. I've always had a kindred spirit and a yearning to travel, but little time or resources to do so. Therefore, I have not embarked much further from the City of Brotherly Love except for an impromptu trip to North Carolina a few years ago and my family adventures into New York City and the Jersey Shore when I was younger. So when my fiance and I radically decided to jump on my first ever plane ride to Arizona with only a day's notice, I didn't think the people there would quite "get" me. That flight led us to the quaint, yet whimsical town of Bisbee. See, I describe myself as "a little hippy, a little hood". I am from Philly after all, so that's where the "hood" part of me comes from. The "hippy" part, I'm told it's in my soul. I am a horse of a different color, so to say, no doubt about that!

To my surprise entering Bisbee, I felt a sense of calmness come over me. Looking at the people in this small town, I could tell they weren't at all like any I've ever met before. Those in which society would call "bums" were the most accepting of all! We encountered many wonderful souls in this old, historic town; an old spirit, "Eyepatch Dave", another free spirit (whom I cannot recall his name), a heartwarmingly friendly, elder, homeless couple, and a lovely, older woman who offered us fresh fruit and vegetables free of charge. The kindness of these so-called "vagrants" in this town was relieving. Definitely not something you see in my neck of the woods. That's for sure!

There was one man that I saw while entering this so-called haunted town that I was drawn to immediately. He was the first person I saw there and greeted me with a huge smile in exchange to my head nod. There was something different about this vibrant, yet gentle, vagabond. I just couldn't put my finger on what it was yet. However, I was determined to find out. I was so intrigued by this man that I even made my fiance inquisitive too. We just had to know more about him.

Throughout our time in Bisbee, we continuously crossed paths with this man. Every time he had a new, eccentric vibe; a makeshift walking stick, a homemade "crown of thorns", a painting of Jesus hanging from his back, or he would be wearing a priest's collar. He would also "Bless" us during every encounter and even performed a little dance for us in the city park. I believe he has a lot to teach people. Almost like a modern day prophet. Funny, all my life I was taught about a prophet who walked the Earth among us many, many years ago. They called Him Jesus. Jesus Christ is what He is most referred to as. Now this may sound a bit absurd, but could this be the Bisbee Jesus? If Jesus is among us again, this man may just be Him. After all, who are we to say it's not?!

In this crazy, COVID infested world, it's nice to believe in something besides all the bad. The Bisbee Jesus gave me that credence that I desperately needed. He also made being across the country from everyone we know and love a little less stressful. Being away from everyone and everything you know, except one person, is extremely stressful during the holiday season with Christmas about a week away. Christmas Day is the celebration of the birth of Jesus. Well, that's quite coincidental...or is it?

We are told Jesus is everywhere. If He is among us once again, it would make sense. The way the world is going, He could "show up" at any time, right? They say it's happened before. Today's society, riddled by unrest and uncertainty, could use a symbol of hope to light the way. Maybe it's the time of the year that made me believe there's more than mental illness in this man, or maybe, just maybe, Jesus lives in Bisbee, Arizona.

happiness
3

About the Creator

Sharon Smith

I have a lot to say. You'll see ...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.