Motivation logo

Are You Not Entertained?!

You Probably Haven't Met Me Yet

By Sharon SmithPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1

"If you do what you love, you'll never work a day in your life". This is probably the most prolific and life altering quote, yet most people have never even heard it before. Marc Anthony, who fought under Julius Caesar and was known for being Cleopatra's lover, goes down in history as the man who vocalized this mere thought. No truer words were spoken as to when he had decided to proclaim this very thought aloud for someone to make note of. Could this just be the key to happiness that so many of us desperately long to find? Show me one person who followed their heart by pursuing their passion in life, whatever it may be, that doesn't seem genuinely happy to be doing that for the rest of their lives. The thing is, if it's truly your passion and you enjoy it that much, could you even call it work? No. Not at all. Most people leave school and start working. They take what seems like the best option at the time because, hey, you have to live right? Somebody has to pay the bills. That should make you just want to pursue your true passion more! The problem is, most people stay in that "option" of a job and never continue to pursue their real passion. It's quite sad really. What if you were different though? What if you had the chance to succeed at your life's passion? You do. If that's what you truly want to do, then you'll find a way.

I have always been a little eccentric, so to speak. Trust me, that's a huge part of what makes me who I am and I fully embrace it. Knowledge of this told me that my passion would be something that isn't exactly your "average 9 to 5". I've always been a natural speaker. My "stories" have always kept people wanting to hear more. These weren't regular, fairytale stories though. These were the events of my life. Most people believe they're made up, but trust me, I couldn't begin to make this stuff up if I tried. I have never had an issue sharing my experiences with anyone because I feel everything in life happens for a reason. What that reason may be, well, that part is uncertain to us when we are left to wonder. I could bet money that you'll see it eventually. Only it doesn't come when you want it, it comes when you are meant to have it. If it wasn't a blessing in life, treat it as a lesson. I can honestly say because I adopted that way of thought, I regret nothing in life. I believe if it did happen, then it was your fate; good or bad.

Because of the many traumatic occurrences that I have experienced throughout my life, I have been known to check-in with a therapist or two. The funny thing is, every time I see a new one and start to explain my life, they all have said one thing...you should write a book. Now, I know that is used as an expression, but they all have proceeded to tell me that my story is phenomenal and it would make an excellent read. The fact that I can tell it so well that I am able to paint a picture for you inside of your mind and make you experience my emotions is a gift. The thing is, I like to speak about things I've experienced or things I know about. I love to listen too. Especially to elderly people. They have the best life lessons in their stories. It's a shame people don't talk to each other about their experiences like the last generations have. That's how I've had morals and values instilled in me and still was entertained. My parents and grandparents spoke to me about their lives. They told me stories, so to speak. I mean, isn't that what Disney does with their "stories"? It's how we learn most lessons throughout our lifetime.

I have always thought about what people have said to me about writing a book and I decided, if I want to write my autobiography, I better make sure that I can at least write. I know that seems odd. I'm 36 and have a Catholic school education from Kindergarten through 12th grade, on the honor roll. So how could I not be able to write? For some reason, I have always doubted my abilities in the subject of Literature. However, I have always loved writing. Writing, acting, doing voice overs, or telling jokes; I can do it all. I have always had this feeling that I was meant to be known. An entertainer of some sort. I never broke into any of it though. Recently, I started looking into talent companies to get headshots and build a portfolio. I have also started writing stories for Vocal and other writing prompt contests online. This way I can get some writing under my belt before diving straight into my novel. Honestly, I hope there is more than one.

My goal is to become known, even if on YouTube at first, like so many do now. My future niece had asked if I would like to do a YouTube channel with her because it's something she had always wanted to do and with my personality, sense of humor, and charm, she'd love to collaborate with me to grow a following. We have a name for the channel already. What we do not have, unfortunately, is the funds to get a good computer and webcam equipment. Plus, we would need editing software. I am a single mother on disability. Therefore, my budget barely has me able to afford to pay attention, let alone all these high tech gadgets. The computer is a definite necessity that would also aid in the writing of my book.

I know I have mentioned numerous things that I am extremely passionate about, but when it comes down to it, what would my true passion in life be? Entertainment. I love to be able to bring out someone's raw emotions with a story that touched them personally. The best feeling, however, is when I make someone laugh. Knowing that I have the ability to brighten someone's day a little makes it all worthwhile. Nothing in the entertainment business would seem like work to me. That would make it the perfect career then wouldn't it? According to Mark Anthony, I will never "work" a day in my life. Could you imagine? A life so great that you actually enjoy waking up and "working" everyday. That's what I want. I want it so bad, it will happen. Somehow, I will make it work out for myself. Until it does, I will keep finding ways to better myself in all areas of entertainment because once I set my mind to something, I get it! Living out your life passion is attainable. Invoke the power of the Law of Attraction, always stay positive, and even when what you want looks like it's absolutely never going to happen, DON'T EVER GIVE UP!!! If it's truly your life passion, you wouldn't be able to walk away so easily. I can't. I'm a 36 year old single mother and I will break out into the entertainment business one day, so make sure you keep an eye out for our YouTube channel in the future and a book written by me. It's gonna happen. I could bank on it. You know why? Because I am determined it will!

success
1

About the Creator

Sharon Smith

I have a lot to say. You'll see ...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.