Motivation logo

Walks in the Park

Knee Pain that Gave Me Strength

By Joyce Plair-JordanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

Sometimes we can only regard a place for the ways we have experienced it. Literature has depicted the connection of observing nature to walking and prolific thought since times millennium. Whitman was always good for this, and I guess that's why I love to read his works. There is something that happens as one hears the crunch of leaves under foot as one foot is put before the other. Although an adult, you are an infant walking while ideas totter and jostle in the mind. Senses become enlivened in a way I can only attempt to describe as a repetitious experience that seems familiar and foreign in each encounter. I believe the mind becomes fit as transcendentalism comes to fruition--then, enlightenment.

Reflection in Narrative

There have been soo many days I have sat at Lake Ella so full of soo many emotions. I've gone the gambit of enlightenment, sadness, fear, confusion, loneliness, and have even felt impoverished. Yes, I have felt poor and have worried about finances--how I would survive, pay my bills, make it through another day of work.

It was this lake; these trees with the moss hanging from them; these ducks; this sidewalk--that bench and hanging swing...

I've been here so many times, so many ways... Yet, today I look at the scenery with splendor once more and again.

Today, I see hope in the glistening shimmers of water ripples being moved forward by the chilly winds. I have grown wise at this lake as I have speed walked many emotions to a state of equilibrium and calm. Right here. I laid my burdens down, I picked up my pride, I shared my hopes and dreams. I shared my hopes and dreams by touching my hand to the smooth parts of the Crepe Myrtle...I have received life from leaves I've held in my hand when I didn't have a hand to hold. Yes, nature has been a true and lasting friend who I've been able to tell all and know that all is held in confidence.

Re-exacerbation of Pain

Walking pains are growing pains whose inflammation stems from many a source--wear and tear from cartilage rubbing to situations that have persisted too long due to mind over matter or lack of self-care. I have come to conclusions this way. What did I learn?

Lesson #1

Peace and happiness can be found in whatever place you find yourself. The hot places in life that present themselves as a hell have no power over your ability to attract the cool parts of the flame that transcend you to a 'powerful reality'. Knowing who you are in every moment of your existence is not a simple task. We are ever changing--ever evolving--forever coming in contact with every thought, every decision, every action we've ever made...not knowing the full extent of the messages that resonate from conflict, betrayal, disrespect, and love.

Lesson #2

Faithful friendship comes with the acceptance of all the parts that make you--you. That piece that found it necessary to pursue an education against the odds is an ally to that part that got married too young and had children too soon. Determination and intestinal fortitude has been as poignant as the careless and selfish moments that have prepared the next steps, opportunities, punishments, set-backs, and thoughtful moments that bring the "Aha" that opens a window or a door for understanding of yourself, the world, and your purpose.

Lesson #3

Everything equates to life. A corpse is bereft of experience. I encourage you to be willing to grow old and be renewed with every blessed year. Your purpose is to live--not choosing to die too soon, not choosing to relinquish your will to any effort of any force to kill the authentic you. All parts of you are there for a reason, and you will find this out. Gratefulness can be found in whatever place you look for it. Heaven, in this life, is power. A powerful reality is you walking, talking, driving, learning, and making resolve to BE.

healing
2

About the Creator

Joyce Plair-Jordan

Depicting life as real as I can make it, poetry and narratives have been the canvas. I consider myself an anthropologist of sorts, even though, I am an educator by trade. A Bachelors in English, a Masters in Education, and a PhD in life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.