Motivation logo

Walking Toward Dreams

By- Vaishnavi Hujare

By Vaishnavi Published 3 years ago 10 min read
1

The Webster Dictionary depicts Memory as a recollection of the past, and memory on paper is substantially better. We always cherish our memories with the use of photos, videos, letters, drawings, etc. But when you begin to think about it, the aspect of the future you desire is somewhere in your heart, clinging on to the hope of it someday becoming true. This thought occurred to me during my Christmas break, while all my memories during this year came flooding back with a bundle of emotions. We all make numerous resolutions after welcoming the new year, and as a result, we end up forgetting them through the course of the year. That’s when the idea of a Vision board came to me. I had seen it on TV before yet never truly gave it a thought as of recently.

To be consistent I wanted to make goals not only for the coming year but rather my whole life. The task of making a vision board is not to smush all of your goals and dreams on it, yet, to have the photos of the experiences that you realize you will achieve and those which have significance behind them. Having a Vision Board with all my dreams, goals, and inspiration is what I need to have a clear and positive path moving forward. At the point when I chose to genuinely do this activity, I realized that I have a never-ending list of the places, dreams, goals, and foods I want to try when I go to new places. Unfortunately, I had to cut down the list to the ones on which I want to be more focused, and as I said before the ones that I realize will be executed shortly. If I could, I would travel the whole world, but some places mean something to me and will be considered a priority. If there is one thing I had decided when starting this project is that, I wanted to make sure it was more interactive rather than just press a button and watch a machine do the work that I could do for the experience. I spent a good quality of my time flipping through magazines, newspapers, and cutting until I found the ideal images, which can say everything, that not even 1000 words can say. Some pictures were indeed harder to find than others, but now what's a challenge without some hard work, Right?

I collected everything I would need for this activity, starting with a big poster board. I then went along to get markers, tape, glue, pencil, and all the images I had collected from the last couple of weeks. When I sat down minutes later I had laid everything down so it would be easy for me to find, yet as I was laying everything down I felt as though something that I required was missing...It took me a while until it hit me that I was missing a pair of scissors. I skimmed the storage room and ended up finding a pair of scissors that were practically broken. I went upstairs to find my mom putting on her shoes when I remembered that she was going to get groceries for the guests coming to our house this weekend. I tagged along with her and told her to drop me off at the dollar tree store nearby. I went in and walked towards the art and craft aisle while glancing at all the cute Christmas and New Year decorations laid out. To my surprise, there were a whole bunch of assortments of scissors. Zig-Zags, waves, spikes, etc. Each of those scissors was unique, and they would for sure give my pictures an attractive edge. I picked out the couple that was appealing and strolled on over to the counter. I handed the $5 to the cashier, who was putting the scissors in the bag one by one after scanning them. I left that store to see my mom sitting in the car waiting calmly for me. I put the bag on the backseat, sat in the front, and buckled myself up. My mom asked what I had bought from the store, and I told her all the different types of scissors I had bought to make my ‘’surprise’’ project more creative. My exhilaration was building up second by second, and all I could see was my vision board all done. I could see all the pictures, quotes, goals, and with each picture, the smile on my face was gradually getting bigger. My imagination and creativity were going wild. I continued considering better approaches to make it prettier, and during my process of speculation, I didn't understand we had effectively returned home until my mother smacked shut her door.

I got home and eagerly started it right away. Just as I was sitting down, my brother walked in with toys in his hands, with an inquisitive look all over, he questioned what I was exactly doing. I didn’t want to spoil the excitement my brother appeared to have in himself. He walked away while telling me to do it quickly so he could take a look at it. I first laid out the pictures on the board, so I wouldn't mess up later after applying the glue. I went through dozens of ideas for the layout but couldn’t pin down the idea that looked presentable. I then, at that point, settled on a design that coordinated precisely with what I envisioned it to be in my brain.

After examining the layout, it occurred to me that all the pictures were the same shape, the similarity in the pictures made it a little boring to look at. I took one of the decorative scissors I had just bought and chosen a picture randomly to cut up the edge. I would change the scissor after 3-4 pictures to make it look exciting.

I continued cutting and gluing on the picture while also jamming out on music. I made a playlist with all my favorite and classic Christmas songs. The project took longer than I assumed, so I cleaned up my scrap papers, tossed them in the trash, and cozied up in my bed.

The following morning I woke up, and when I opened the blinds on my window gradually, I could see white snow all over the place. I always look forward to a snowy day, it always builds up a cozy feeling inside of me. I changed into my snuggly sweats and went on downstairs to get some hot cocoa. When I got back upstairs, I found my brother taking my scissors and glue. When I asked him why he took my supplies, he responded by saying that he wanted to make a card too just like me. I couldn’t possibly be mad after that, he had the cutest smile on his face. I told him he could have the other pair of scissors, and he could keep the glue since I recalled I had another one in my closet.

I was on my way upstairs when my mom handed me a box, wrapped in wrapping paper with small Christmas trees scattered all over. I passionately took the box from her and opened it up quicker than I could blink. I couldn’t believe what I saw, it was a box filled with stickers, washi tape, design paper, and a whole bunch of other colorful material. Since the time I was a little girl, my mother had consistently seen my passion for making things from the bits and pieces I found. I would make a ton of things, each made from what I find and collect. My parents always got me what I wanted, and have never stood in the ways of my dreams. I have never been more grateful to my parents, they always know what to get me, and it is always given to me at the right time somehow…..I guess it’s kind of like a twist of fate.

I then went right upstairs, with the biggest smile, and took a nice long look at it, because I genuinely couldn’t believe I have this in my hands right now. This early Christmas gift assured me that my Vision board was going to look even more astounding. I finally finished my vision board, and I also finished all the glue apparently. The delight I had when I glued on the last picture was unforgettable

I picked up the board, put it standing up, and contemplated it. The aesthetics and pastel color palette that I had on the board made it look even. Each picture stood out because I made sure all the pictures were random rather than having them in a group. The feeling of it kind of being thrown onto the board somehow made it look even better.

When I finally took the time to look at each picture individually, I could just imagine myself standing in the clear water of Bora-Bora, and cracking the thick layer of sugar on the Creme Brulee while looking at the French streets. I already feel so excited just thinking about it, I can't imagine how I would feel standing there with a polaroid in my hand, ready to take memorable pictures. All these pictures brought me to a realization that, when I travel to those places, I will learn so much of life that I can’t find sitting on my couch while watching Netflix. If there is one thing my mom taught me was that you should always be independent and I plan to stand by that lesson.

I was taking my board down the stairs when I thought I could put a scarf on it, so the surprise would not be destroyed while I put it down for them to gander. I took my scarf, covered it, and walked quickly down the stairwell. I gathered my family and told them to hold on because they are going to see what my dreams are going to be and my diligence towards them. I removed the cloth, and I could just see the happiness on all of their faces.

My brother was the first one to run up and take a look at the pictures closely. He asked me questions about each picture: the what, where, why, and when I plan on going there. My mother and father were both glad for me for utilizing my time and supplies admirably and for making something that helps me later on. When they asked what had inspired me to make this Vision Board, I explained to them that I wanted to plan my bucket list in a beautiful, and minimal way.

My inspiration for this was from a TV show I watched once, and after looking at my Vision board my dad was inspired to make one for himself too, followed by my mom and brother.

My dad doesn’t have a big bucket list like mine, unlike me who tends to go a bit extra sometimes. My dad is the type of person who prefers to be minimal and unique. My mom has accomplished a lot in her life but hasn’t traveled to her most desired places. The Maldives, which is one location on my bucket list, is where she has dreamed of going since she was a little girl, and after looking at the pictures on google, I have completely fallen in love with the place. My brother was still young, so his biggest dreams were of getting a big toy car, which is cute but if I know one thing for sure about my brother it is that he will be adventurous in the future, I can just see it.

This project not only inspired me but also inspired my family to try something new. It’s been 1 year since I made my vision board, but I wasn't able to complete anything on my vision board due to the pandemic. Nonetheless, I made more projects and did more activities during the course of quarantine, and now is when I will begin to make my vision board true. This vision board was an unforgettable experience and all it took was some creativity, passion, and scissors.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Vaishnavi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.