Motivation logo

Walking my way into the morning sun.

The Earth has its way of reminding us how awesome it is to be alive even with this pandemic.

By Macey MondayPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Have a sip of the morning.

Ahh. What a great day! I thought I'd wake up early and go to the beach for a cup of coffee. No! Its freaking winter, it's very cold! It's so windy. Plus I have so much work to do and have to finish my homework. Why do I still have to study anyway? I hate this morning! I just really want to go to bed. Maybe I'll just go back to bed.

This is me while grabbing a pair of running shoes and putting my cap on. These emotions are always in the loop with my everyday tasks. It never ends. At some point, I wish it ends.

As I walked out of the house while fighting myself if I should really go to the beach for a walk, I hurried up and put on my rock ass music and tell myself that I can do this before this voice tell me why it is better for me to stay in bed. Every day I have to battle with these little voices in my head that want me to fail. Some days they do win but for the most part, I know they are just voices. I am already halfway to the beach and people are already annoying me. I ignored the feeling and kept walking. I know it's just me trying to make me feel bad about my decision.

Finally, holding a cup of flat white seems to make things better. Oh my god, this breeze, I love this breeze. I can feel that smile on my face! Seeing people suddenly gave me warmth in my heart. A random dog even came up to me to say “hi” and I get to pet him. That’s the kind of love I need in this walk. At last, the sun is coming up and it is now hitting my face. It is time to play my gratitude video. Life is beautiful!

It is after my walk (run) and seeing the beautiful sunrise that I feel recharged, alive. It did take some courage out of me to get up at the right time and endure the cold weather but it’s always worth it. Always! It becomes more rewarding when you know you overcome those voices that tell you, you can’t. These self-limiting beliefs are in all of us every day. Different day different struggles but you are stronger and wiser each day. You know that feeling you get after winning over your struggles and thinking that you can definitely win anything. That glow within you, that fire that makes you do more and to get more of your day. That!

We deal with self-limitation every day. We battle through our days and dread how our every routine is. But in fact, if we zoom out just a little bit we would see how lucky we are to be alive. Yes, there is a pandemic. Yes, the weather isn't so great. Yes, we have tons of to do's. But the sun is out there shining. Why can't we?

I think I glow today more than ever as I write this for you to read. I know that life is pretty challenging right now and everyone needs to support each other more than ever. It’s amazing that these times we have all these apps to connect with other in just one click of a finger. Being able to write the "good voice" in my head and share it with you is incredible! I am very grateful for that as well. This life that we have and get to experience isn't perfect but it is definitely worth living. Let's win this little limiting voices one or more at a time. Let go and share our glow.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Macey Monday

Globe trotter and an aspiring writer.

Macey enjoys seeing the beauty of the world. She fell in love with writing at a very young age and is now back to explore the magical world of writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.