Motivation logo

Valentine's Day is for everyone!

Sometimes this holiday can feel exclusive but it does not have to be

By Christina EpperlyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Valentine's Day is for everyone!
Photo by Amy Shamblen on Unsplash

Hello, there before I go any further. Let me tell you a little bit about myself. I'm 32 years old, and I have never officially been in a relationship. The reason why is complicated, but I will try to make it as simple as possible. I have been on a date before, but I have come to the realization that I only liked the idea of being in a relationship. We are told through many different forms of media that when you grow up , you fall in love, and then you get married. It's just what you do. Naturally, I thought that I would eventually find someone. However, I have figured out that being single is what's right for me. That being said, it does get difficult to be single at my age. Sometimes, I'm proud of being single. Other times, it can be really challenging. I know that I can't be the only one in this situation so I decided to write about it. When it comes to Valentine's Day, I have a love-hate relationship with it. I have good memories of this holiday when I was a kid, but as I got older, it got less fun. Sometimes, it was hard in my teens and early adult years watching everyone who was in a relationship celebrate their love. It was easy to feel left out even if you knew that more than half the relationships being celebrated wouldn't stand the test of time. Sometimes, it feels like Valentine's Day presents itself as a holiday that only certain people can celebrate. That the holiday is only for children to celebrate with their classmates or for adults who are lucky enough to have a romantic relationship. Sometimes, you can ignore the fact that Valentine's Day is approaching, but when the day comes and everyone is posting about the person they are in love with, it can make you feel inferior. I know that I am loved by family, friends, and my cat. However ,since I don't have romantic love in my life, it is easy to feel like I have a lower status than other people around me. Sometimes, this makes me sad or even angry. With all that being said recently, I have found that the best way to fight back is to think positively and to be thankful for all the blessings you do have in your life. This year I'm going to celebrate Valentine's Day and I'm excited about it. I have learned that a lot of times, it is best to ignore the media's expectations for you and to set your own expectations and goals for yourself, and Valentine's Day is no different. Love comes in many different forms, and no matter what the media say, the love of family and friends is just as valuable as the love that comes from a romantic partner. I used to think that the best was to fight back against my feelings of being left out was to be against Valentine's Day and to be negative towards it but now I have discovered that it is much better and healthier to celebrate Valentines Day anyway no matter what you are told. You have the power to make Valentinus's Day a great day no matter your relationship status. You can make or order dinner for your family, buy your friend a heart shaped box full of chocolate, decorate your home or workplace with hearts, and you can buy yourself a gift or even get yourself a card. Instead of being upset this year, I'm going to celebrate all the love and blessings I have in my life, and I recommend that anyone who is feeling left out do the same thing. I guess the only thing left to say is I hope whoever is reading this has a truly beautiful and wonderful February 14th! Happy Valentine's Day!

healingself helphappiness
1

About the Creator

Christina Epperly

Hello There ! I'm a blogger, writer and bucket lister! My bucket list has over 300 items on it. I am big believer in enjoying the little things in life. I also love collecting toys.

John 3:16

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.