Motivation logo

Truth

The perfect painting

By Lucy StarrPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Humans only listen to what they want to hear.

It's how our planet, full of idiotic people, runs so smoothly.

But that's also why there is so much that is hiding behind the painting of the concept of what is right.

Feed people lies and they'll swallow them, begging for more.

We all live on this planet to suit ourselves and our own conditions. Lies are food for the soul.

So yes, my friend, I do say that to please someone [the whole of mankind] you must tell them what they want to hear.

You must withhold the truth, and lie to them.

It is the only way to get the results that you expect, and, presumably the future necessary for a guarded world.

But yet, some would actually appreciate eating the falsehood instead of the truth since, sometimes, the truth is just too right.

The truth is just too raw.

The truth is just too real.

So then, one may ask, what was truth? Did the word even exist?

'Truth' can mean something different for everyone and there is no mutual agreement on the actual definition.

Was truth twisted with so much emotion that it masked the raw notion of itself?

Or was it abused with hatred (For nobody found pleasure with it) and therefore lost its true meaning and was brought under with the rebellious, dishonest nature of mankind?

Who are we to know?

Who are we to care?

We aren't, in fact, obliged to do either. For if they knew that you know, you won't live to see the moon rise again.

After the lies take place, truth only becomes an abstract idea.

But that, my friend, is the true lie.

And yet as I say that, I could be lying.

You should simply believe me because you have come to the same conclusion yourself, but I actually believe in something more as well.

There is always going to be some yin to the yang, some balance, some equal force pushing against the norm. Everything must have an equal and opposite reaction or else the whole idea of reality wouldn't function. There's light and darkness, bad and good, black and white.

It's hard to imagine living in that perfect world without any disruption, and yet we strive to get there every day.

Your leaders all have different opinions on how to get to that perfect, impossible, world. All of them think that they know more than the other, and that may be true, but they don't accept that they can be wrong.

They brainwash you, me, and the rest of them to believe in something that correlates to their own regime.

Every country, every party, every individual person blames the other because they think that their truth is the correct one, but what if we're all wrong?

What is truth is everything that we do, everything that we know. What if truth doesn't choose one or the other, it just lives and breathes in both of the sides.

Both of the arguments.

Both of the fights.

Everyone is so focused on their concept because they know that it is right.

And it is.

There is always truth in the lies and that fact doesn't fail.

It doesn't have to be true according to the world, but it could be true to you. Maybe that is where the truth really is.

But then, there's another side. My side.

I say truth doesn't exist. I say truth is just a figment of our imagination that we want to make a reality.

If it really did exist, if there really was a right and a wrong, why couldn't we have been smart enough to find it? If there is a truth to one thing, why isn't there a truth to everything? If truth only makes itself known to some group of people and not others, how would one know if those few who were chosen were actually telling the truth?

Why would there be so much war if truth existed and was made known? Someone knows the truth, or someone knew the truth. But that person is dead; that person is long gone, if that person even existed in the first place.

And so is truth.

Truth is fake.

Truth is dead.

Truth is gone.

At least for me.

They can't control me anymore, I'm not going to listen to them. I write my own stories, I do my own research, I make my own facts.

Anything they shove down my throat is still there, but I will continue feeding myself my own truth. Whether or not I lie to myself the entire time is a different story.

If I am happy with my ignorance, even if it is hurting me without my consent.. I'd like to stay in my confusion.

My life is happy. I can sail my own ship and make the others walk the deck.

They can't stop me now.

Nothing can stop me.

...

Or maybe that's just what I want you to think.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Lucy Starr

Hi,

I enjoy writing poems and short stories that reflect how I feel. I occasionally complete challenges, and although I'm clearly not the most accomplished writer, I write for fun and leisure.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.