Motivation logo

Top 20 Books I read in 2013 (revisited!)

In 2013, after I finished my MA in Creative Writing, I managed to read 52 books, and I made a list of my favourite literary reads, which I shared amongst friends in a personal blog. I had this hankering to share it again, unedited and keeping the original casual tone, for anyone for whom it could be inspiring when choosing what to read! Spoilers ahead!

By Sandra Tena ColePublished about a year ago 17 min read
4
Pictured is my bookcase at the start of 2014.

20. Labyrinth, by Kate Mosse.

This was a Christmas gift from my friend Jamie (Christmas 2012, not this one), and it is, like Gabaldon’s work, chic lit for the smart chic. I add it here because (ha, the same reasons, actually!) it has action, it has romance and it has magic... and because I learned a lot about the Crusades and the Inquisitions (both from the actual book and from all the research that it led me to), and this feeds my own writing so organically!

This book has a lot of quality, no wonder they made it into a TV series... no, I have not seen them but maybe one day... there are so many things to watch out there! But the book is pretty cool, though, so do check it out if you’re into historical fiction.

19. Cross Stitch, by Diana Gabaldon.

This was actually a birthday gift from my friend Michelle, partly as a joke, partly because she says (and she’s right) that all women should read a bit of historical romance now and then. Truly, it is very relaxing. I mean, not when they’re like, in the middle of a highland battle, or escaping from a prison or from being executed... or when they’re being tortured. Or not even when they’re having sex.

Uhm. Why did I think this book was relaxing? I will probably not be able to answer that anymore, but the fact is, this book is very high quality, its chic lit for the smart chic, and you even learn a bit here and there; there’s action, romance and magic all in one book. And the actual reason why it’s on this list is because I have an anecdote to go with it: I actually finished reading it sitting at the bus stop, three blocks from my house, at midnight, the night I came back from Newcastle on my graduation week. I did it because I knew my landlady was at home and I know how her mouth works: once it starts going, it might not finish until an hour or two later, and come on, I was returning from my graduation, for God and the Goddess’ sakes, so she would start her mouth as soon as I’d walk into the door. She did, by the way; we ended up talking for almost an hour.

So the fact that I sat there in the cold to read the last two or three pages and be able to close the book peacefully made me realize: this book deserves mention!

18. A gathering light, by Jennifer Donnelly.

I read this book for school, but not from the “must read” list; from the optional, instead... such a great choice!! We had actually read an excerpt in class, and I was very taken by the story, so I put my hands on it as soon as I could. Once more, it is a murder mystery (man I read a lot of murder books this year! Well, I’m keeping up with Agatha and starting Conan Doyle from scratch this year, so I guess I better get used to it, ha!). But more importantly than the murder, the story is about the effect that the sad event has on the protagonist, and about her pursue of stories... the book is about that breaking point, the one that makes us all go this is it, this is what I want to do... and of course it is also about all the obstacles that came her way once she chose, because it is like that with all of us, right? It is when we say we’ll go for something that the road suddenly seems full of blockages.

But we all go and get it in the end, whatever the cost, and that is what makes us great. And that is what makes this book inspiring and heart-warming.

17. The Bridget Jones Diary and The Edge of Reason, by Helen Fielding.

I am counting them as one book because of their continuity within each other. Totally cheating, I know, but hey, whatcha gonna do?

So, I had wanted to read these two ever since I found out they were originally books. I had my doubts, because of the diary-style (I have not been able to go through Sex and the City, I get a little distracted as I read it); but I enjoyed the movies so much (just like Sex and the City, to be honest), and the whole art within the art was so alluring that I just caved in! And I’m glad I did cos man, they’re good! They’re so funny that I just couldn’t stop laughing on the tube... so it’s lucky that I’m in London, cos I think here the word “weirdo” has lost all meaning, hahaha!

And it was truly fascinating to see Colin Firth and Hugh Grant and Mr Darcy (the Austen one) go through so many layers in and out of the page and my image memory... so, in this case at least, I am willing to say that watching the movies before the book was the best thing for me, hehe.

(By the way, I reread Pride and Prejudice and I loved it as much as when I was nineteen.)

16. The Helper, by David Jackson.

So, as a way to get experience (and read a heap of free books), I am volunteering with TripFiction.com, reviewing books that take us to exciting places. One of the many books I’ve done (and actully one of the last books I read in December), is The Helper (but just sent it as I posted this online, so I hope I peak your interest).

This book is a really great thriller. I found it an absolute page-turner, and I won’t really say more than that because I have to publicize myself and I hope that you will all be turning into the TripFiction blog soon to see what I say about this book, hehe.

15. The Beauty of Murder, by H.K. Benedict.

This is another one of the books I reviewed (again, check out my review at TripFiction.com), and I really liked it because it was paranormal thriller at its best... I loved the setting: Cambridge, which is the second British city I ever went to and thus the second British city I fell in love with. The storyline is quite original, and the characters are very well rounded. The mystery is well produced and the style is great, because the story is told in three different voices, which makes it delightful, psychology-wise.

I have to admit that I took the model for my own book, Wideawake, which I have just finished. The whole three voices thing, I mean; I think it works amazing for any thriller, paranormal or not. Well, it works fantastic on any book, in the end.

14. Cloud Atlas, by David Mitchell.

Becasue of really interesting comments from my friend Hillery on an email I got from her right when I moved to Newcastle, I wanted to read the book before watching the film... It was a bit like a double-sided knife, but I am quite glad I did it, because the characters just had more meaning as I saw them on the screen... of course it also made the whole same-actor-playing-different-characters thing more aggravating to me, literally speaking, but on the other hand, they did such a good job that I quite enjoyed it after all.

The book is so original, and the style is soooo particular. Big time. It really makes me think that Mitchell is a literary genius. And that I want to read more of his books. Hooray for him and for his penmanship.

13. Wicked, by Gregory Maguire.

So, I had wanted to read this book for many years, and so it happened that when my friend Spyros came to visit me a few weeks after I moved to London, he suggested we go and watch the musical. He has been a fan of the musical for a while, and I was getting pretty hyped to go with him. Best. Musical. Ever.

Bar none. Best musical ever! I loved the colour and the songs and the actors and the costumes and the storyline. I bought a Glinda necklace and we took pictures with the actors and everything, it was awesometacular... I loved it so much that the next day we were walking past a bookstore and Spyros goes “Hey, this is where I bought my first book in London”, and I am all that’s it, this is where I buy Wicked.

I did, I read it, I loved it and I put it on the list.

Ironically, I do not like The Wizard of Oz. Hm, probably that’s why I like this one so darn much! Lol.

Word of advice: for those musical enthusiasts, if you haven’t read the book, know that it is very very very different than the musical. I enjoyed it immensely, anyhow, but if asked I would actually say that I like the musical better. Seriously, it’s the best musical ever!

12. Glint, by Anne Coburn.

Glint is a children’s book, but I can pretty much say that all fantasy-loving adults will enjoy it as much as any child. I found the story very metaphorical, but even if Ann Coburn was my teacher at Newcastle Uni, and a great teacher at that, I could not go and ask her about the meaning of the duality... It is a universal truth that even if the author has one idea about his or her book, it’s the reader who will give it its last meaning down that line... and then there are discussions between readers and a new line might be created, and so forth. But this I have to say: as much as I was tempted to, I did not ask her. And now I regret it. I will probably email her later on and ask her. Shoot, now I’m contradicting myself online.

Moving on!

11. The Silver Linings Playbook, by Mathew Quick.

I also wanted to read this book before the movie came out... I loved the book very much –but I have not seen the film, lol. I do want to, and maybe I will just rent it at some point, or something, but the thing is that I really enjoyed the book. It is written in a very original way, with a very original voice, and like a lot of the books I’ve mentioned on the list already, this one is quite heart-warming as well!

I might do a follow-up when I see the movie, but for now, this is definitely one of the books that I recommend for everyone, whatever age or gender or cultural background.

10. Strange Pilgrims (Doce Cuentos Peregrinos), by Gabriel García Márquez.

A Hundred Years of Solitude has been one of my favourite novels for over a decade, and now, while working on the Masters, we had to choose our own books to read to make our points with our own stories, I picked this one... I had read some of García Márquez’s short stories before, but not a full book of them. I picked it because I was going to write about a Latin American who comes to England for studies (yes, a bit autobiographical), and I wanted to experience that feeling through his pen. It was absolutely wonderful. There are some stories there that you can just feel in your veins; being a migrant or a tourist or a student, it doesn’t really matter, as long as you have entered into a different land, for whatever period of time, and from whatever original nationality, this book will make you feel something very very deep. Everyone should read it!

9. The Great Gatby, by (The Great) F. Scott Fitzgerald.

Frankly I only wanted to read the book before the Leonardo Di Caprio movie came out... and I fell head over heels with it! I could not believe what I had missed all these years... I mean, I usually felt illiterate and a bit of a fake for not having read it (even though I have read a great many masters anyhow), so when the movie was about to come out I said, this has got to stop, I have to read it! I did. Oh, I have not seen the 60’s movie, btw, but now, since I liked the Di Caprio one so much, I will see it as soon as I have the chance.

Ahh, and I cannot help but stop for a minute and say how much I liked Tom Hiddleston’s Fitzgerald in Midnight in Paris. If I loved the man before, now I think he’s just perfect! (I was in love with him even as he played Loki the first time, so I’m not just sayin’ it to look interesting, hehe.)

So, with the book, I breathed in the light of it... it was just so poetic, the light in the pages, and the characters are so extraordinary, and the dialogue just so potent... I just love it. Love it!

8. The Drive, by Tyler Keevil.

The Drive is another one of the books I have reviewed on TripFiction.com (I recommend my review on the blog as much as the book itself). It’s funny and heart-warming and very appropriately located in the West Coast of the USA. I particularly loved Sprite. And it’s bound to make anyone say “What the hell...?” in more than one passage. Totally worth it.

I would recommend this book to the younger readers between y’all, but I’m sure that more than one mature adult would also enjoy it immensely.

7. Londoners, compiled by Craig Taylor.

I think I have already said that I have been in love with London since I was 12... if not, then I'm stating it here. So a few months ago I came to visit along with my friend Cata, who’s been here a bunch of times and had a book called Londres Insólito y Secreto (Secret and Incredible London) so we decided to discover some of those things that are not on the usual tourist routes... and we found so many secrets! One of those secrets was The School of Life, where I got the book and a few other things (and where I have taken a great many workshops, now that I’m living here).

Londoners changed my way of seeing London. For good or bad, it’s too early to say. This is the only book on the list which is not literature; but it is stories: real, personal, heart-warming stories, and it has given me a new perspective on what it means to live and breathe London. It also took me into Treadwells, where I met my new friends Mani, Vathani and Fiona, and that makes me feel so blessed.

This book I recommend to all who would like to know more about this wondrous city from a deeper outlook and a sharper angle.

6. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy the Trilogy of Five (books 1-4), by Douglas Adams.

Yes, just books 1 through 4. The fifth might make you want to jump out the window if you’re not emotionally prepared to cope with it.

Books 1,2 and 3 are all pretty much alike, all hilarious and exciting. Of course, it’s 100% sci-fi so it might not be for all, but those who like Star Wars and Star Trek and of course Doctor Who will really enjoy it. Those who don’t like those series might also really enjoy it actually, it’s not a rule, by any means! So, basically, Douglas Adams also got a ticket into my favourite British authors, and the fact that he was a script writer for Doctor Who for many years and that some of the Hitchhiker books came from unused Who scripts just makes me love the books all the more. Oh, and the Hitchhiker was recommended also (for years) by Alan, Nikolas, and introducing my cousin Paola.

Now, the fourth book... that one is still very good, although the style and tone changes completely. I would recommend it to all who liked the first three, but not everyone might react to it in the same way, so it’s tricky.

The fifth book just made me want to jump out the window.

5. The Mysterious Affair at Styles, by Agatha Christie.

My mom loves to tell a story of how, when I was about to graduate from high school and was in a panic because I could not decide what BA I would go into afterwards, she asked me: “What would you like to be doing when you retire?” She was thinking that the kind of activity I imagined would be doing at retirement could give me a clue as to what I would be retiring from. She is incredibly proud of my answer: “I would like to lie on a hammock and read Agatha Christie novels”. Seriously, she tells it to everyone she can. And seriously, that’s what I would like to do!

So, when I realized that they were over 80 of them and that I would probably go mentally insane if I tried to read them all during retirement, I downloaded them into my kindle and gave myself a head start! Slightly OCD as I am, I chose to start from novel number 1 and make my way through them like that. I did not do it like that, I started by my favourite: And Then There Were None (otherwise called by me in different media as Ten Little Indians, which is actually incorrect). I loved it as much as I did when I was in high school. And then I started from the beginning.

Agatha Christie needs no introduction: she is the Mistress of Mystery Novels. As much as Arthur Conan Doyle is the Master... so yes: if you love crime and mystery books, this is a complete go-to.

4. Basket Case, by Carl Hiassen.

I’ve liked Hiassen since a bunch of years back, when I read Stormy Weather, and I pretty much knew that this book would deliver just as much. I was not wrong. As far as detective novels go, this is awesome; and as far as humorous books go, this is pure genius! This one I recommend to ALL, something that I cannot so with most of the books on the list because I know everyone has different tastes, but even if I’m wrong, I am willing to declare that Hiassen would satisfy all tastes.

3. The Eyre Affair, by Jasper Fforde

This book is simply amazing. From top to bottom, it’s just perfect. It’s got fantasy to keep you going for years and mystery and romance... and some of the best word games I have ever read! The characters are so well rounded and the literary references are great... and the play into Jane Eyre is just phenomenal.

I got it on my very last day at Newcastle (not forever, cos I’ve returned since and plan on returning every so often, but as a resident, I mean). It was my gift from me to me for finishing the Masters. Oh, and it was recommended, also, by Nikolas (it was our last trip together to Oxfam Books, great way to say good bye to the city and our literary rituals). Best thing ever.

Btw, Fforde: rapidly climbing the ladder of my new favourite British authors, and his birthday is right before mine, thank you very much!

2. Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman.

Gaiman is without a doubt my favourite British author... yes, Tolkien and Carroll and Austen and Christie and Conan Doyle will always be my favourites, it’s just that now I’ve discovered another one!

Neverwhere had been thrust towards me continuously by two of my best friends in the world, Alan and Nikolas, and the only reason I had not read it was for lack of time... but for a London lover like I have been since I was 12, and for a fantasy lover since I discovered the use of word, then it is a complete and utter must!! Frankly, I thought it would be the number one in the list, and they were very much nose to nose, I just had to pick one for listing... it was hard and it still is, even as I write this, lol...

Anyway, storywise, Neverwhere has it all: it is a story about a trip into the darkest parts of your soul (at least that’s the symbolism for me), and it’s full of magic and wonderful creatures and amazing discoveries in every turn of the page. Absolutely perfect. Or else, the only thing that made it come second was the thing about the cats. When you read it you will understand. Still, just what the doctor ordered!

Last year I also read Stardust and M is for Magic; Stardust is one of my favourite movies, and I was very pleased to discover that it did not make me like it less when I read the book. The book is precious in every sense, and the movie is hilarious in ways that could only have been conveyed by film, so they both win. M is for Magic is fantastic! Most of the short stories are perfect in every sense, particularly Chivalry, which is bar none my favourite short story ever and makes me so so so glad I read it.

OK, this is me giving three Gaiman books second place in the list. Yes, it’s cheating, I know, but it was kind of hard to avoid doing it, since I gave first place to someone “else”...

1. Dance Dance Dance, by Haruki Murakami.

I got this book one sunny day in Dublin, in a wonderful bookstore called The Winding Stair. I actually saw the bookstore through the window of the tour bus, and, since we were planning to dine at the Clarence Hotel (taking in a little touch of Bono and The Edge, of course), and the bookstore was just a few blocks from it across the river, my mom and I decided to go check it out. Long story short, I told my mom that I’d always wanted to read Murakami and she bought it for me, yay!!

About the book, well I can say that it’s very magical without being a fantasy book... it takes place during the eighties, and because most of the references weren’t known to me until the nineties or even the early two-thousands, it took me back to my adolescence and early youth. Also, it is a story about search, friendship an evolution, all of my favourite things, with just the right touch of mystery and romance. Loved it big time!!

So, that’s my list for this year... I have, as of now, only 652 books to read... plus all the ones that will enter because of TripFiction.com, plus all the ones people will recommend me, PLUS a bunch that I know people will give me now and then... So, I do not know if I will manage 52 books again (at all), but this was a really fun year for trying and succeeding... and in future lists I might just do a top 10 or something (which will cut my writing in half, which will cut your reading in half, so everybody wins) (seriously, when I thought of a top 20 I had no idea the writing it implied was so long, ha!).

As they say, so many books... so little time!

In any case, enjoy if you pick any of these books, and do recommend if you believe I would enjoy one of the ones you’ve read.

book review
4

About the Creator

Sandra Tena Cole

Actress, Model, Writer

Co-producer at His & Hers Theatre Company

Esoteric Practitioner

Idealist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Carol Townendabout a year ago

    Yes, I'm always reading too. I love the recommendations and they will make it to the already long list of books I have to read! Thank you for this interesting article.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Colleen Millsteed about a year ago

    I’ve not read a single book on this list so now I’m going to have to track a few down. Thank you Sandra for a great multitude review.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.