Motivation logo

toleration of a superior creature

toleration of a superior creature

By YouTHPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

for the infirmities of a common mortal

that her landlord was a little M, you know!” ‟

She lived at the top of the house, in a pretty large room, from which

she had a glimpse of Lincoln’s Inn Hall. This seemed to have been her

principal inducement, originally, for taking up her residence there. She

could look at it, she said, in the night, especially in the moonshine. Her

room was clean, but very, very bare. I noticed the scantiest necessaries in

the way of furniture; a few old prints from books, of Chancellors and

barristers, wafered against the wall; and some half-dozen reticles and

work-bags, containing documents,” as she informed us. There were ‟

neither coals nor ashes in the grate, and I saw no articles of clothing

anywhere, nor any kind of food. Upon a shelf in an open cupboard were

a plate or two, a cup or two, and so forth, but all dry and empty. There

was a more affecting meaning in her pinched appearance, I thought as I

looked round, than I had understood before.

‟Extremely honoured, I am sure,” said our poor hostess with the

greatest suavity, by this visit from the wards in Jarndyce. And very much ‟

indebted for the omen. It is a retired situation. Considering. I am limited

as to situation. In consequence of the necessity of attending on the

Chancellor. I have lived here many years. I pass my days in court, my

evenings and my nights here. I find the nights long, for I sleep but little

and think much. That is, of course, unavoidable, being in Chancery. I am

sorry I cannot offer chocolate. I expect a judgment shortly and shall then

place my establishment on a superior footing. At present, I don’t mind

confessing to the wards in Jarndyce (in strict confidence) that I

sometimes find it difficult to keep up a genteel appearance. I have felt

the cold here. I have felt something sharper than cold. It matters very

little. Pray excuse the introduction of such mean topics.”

She partly drew aside the curtain of the long, low garret window and

called our attention to a number of bird-cages hanging there, some

containing several birds. There were larks, linnets, and goldfinches—Ifor the infirmities of a common mortal

that her landlord was a little M, you know!” ‟

She lived at the top of the house, in a pretty large room, from which

she had a glimpse of Lincoln’s Inn Hall. This seemed to have been her

principal inducement, originally, for taking up her residence there. She

could look at it, she said, in the night, especially in the moonshine. Her

room was clean, but very, very bare. I noticed the scantiest necessaries in

the way of furniture; a few old prints from books, of Chancellors and

barristers, wafered against the wall; and some half-dozen reticles and

work-bags, containing documents,” as she informed us. There were ‟

neither coals nor ashes in the grate, and I saw no articles of clothing

anywhere, nor any kind of food. Upon a shelf in an open cupboard were

a plate or two, a cup or two, and so forth, but all dry and empty. There

was a more affecting meaning in her pinched appearance, I thought as I

looked round, than I had understood before.

‟Extremely honoured, I am sure,” said our poor hostess with the

greatest suavity, by this visit from the wards in Jarndyce. And very much ‟

indebted for the omen. It is a retired situation. Considering. I am limited

as to situation. In consequence of the necessity of attending on the

Chancellor. I have lived here many years. I pass my days in court, my

evenings and my nights here. I find the nights long, for I sleep but little

and think much. That is, of course, unavoidable, being in Chancery. I am

sorry I cannot offer chocolate. I expect a judgment shortly and shall then

place my establishment on a superior footing. At present, I don’t mind

confessing to the wards in Jarndyce (in strict confidence) that I

sometimes find it difficult to keep up a genteel appearance. I have felt

the cold here. I have felt something sharper than cold. It matters very

little. Pray excuse the introduction of such mean topics.”

She partly drew aside the curtain of the long, low garret window and

called our attention to a number of bird-cages hanging there, some

containing several birds. There were larks, linnets, and goldfinches—I

self help
Like

About the Creator

YouTH

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

YouTH is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.