Motivation logo

Today Can Be the Day You Turn Things Around

"In the chaos, there is a breeding ground." ~ Anais Nin

By Arya SharmaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Today Can Be the Day You Turn Things Around
Photo by Sane Sodbayar on Unsplash

How did I get to this point?

This question has come to my mind over and over again as I drive to my parents' house in a state of utter exhaustion. My little daughter was strapped to the back seat, my pregnant belly pressing the steering wheel, hot tears streaming down my face.

I'm done. I had nothing left to give. How did I get here?

Slowly, suddenly.

Thanks forever to Hemingway, three simple words well summarized how I ended up in a situation I did not want or expected.

“How did you die?”

Slowly, and then suddenly. ”

~ Ernest Hemingway (Sunrise)

It happened slowly, almost invisibly. Then, suddenly, out of nowhere, I was devastated.

Looking back, I can see that I was determined to focus on anxiety, perfectionism, comparisons, sleep deprivation, apathy, poor health, and the feeling that I deserve more in life.

Gradually, these things became harmful. Suddenly I found myself in a dark and frightened place.

This slows down gradually, then suddenly it is not reserved for more corruption. It is not reserved for the most successful, or for the most sensitive.

We are all experiencing a sudden decline. There are times when we see what we have been ignoring, mistreating, or taking for granted. It could be ours:

Life - when stepping on a scale, try walking up three steps, or looking at a recent photo.

Drugs - the moment when we realize we can’t cut ties on something, emotions, or someone.

Credit - the moment we have the courage to look at your credit card statement, answer a debt collector's call, or see that we are living beyond our means.

Clash - the moment we see how much we love material things, how much money is spent on things, or how much our children are entitled.

Time - a time when we see that we have been watching television for more than 60 days a year, months pass without showing it, or what is shown on the screen is ten years older than we remember.

Relationships - the moment we realize we haven't talked to our best friend in months, we've seen our grandmother since Christmas, or we're playing CandyLand with our kids.

Either we give up the important focus, or we decide that not knowing the truth about our situation is better than seeing the truth.

Unfortunately for us, there will be a time when things will return to focus. And that moment will slowly build up and come suddenly, leaving us dejected.

Change it to Accept Key

As the descent, the ascent will be gradual.

When my husband picked me up at my parents' house that night three years ago, we went home quietly. Our daughter was sleeping peacefully in the back seat and I felt relieved. The rest of the night was the first uninterrupted sleep I had had in years.

Over the years, I have changed things. I'm happier, healthier, more productive, and have more content than ever before.

When I realized that my life was one big, balanced act of balance, I began to see what it was and what it meant.

Set the Most Important Thing

I took the time to discover what was really important. Once I took away my expectations, comparisons and the thought of “I deserve more in life” made it easier to see what my priorities were.

My husband and children, love, art, health, spirituality, joy and beauty. And most importantly, make time, space, and energy to fully experience each of these.

Your priorities are very different from mine. But ask yourself, “If I took expectations, comparisons, and privileges, what would be most important to me? What are my priorities? ”

Accept Consideration

At first, accepting the thought and actually engaging with my family, friends, and work was terrifying. What if I am in need? What if I don't like what I've seen? What if they don't like what they see?

Over time, I have found that there is more to life than just thinking about it. Taking the time to engage in intense and real conversations, be aware of the exact shade of lavender at sunset, to be fully immersed. There is depth and joy right there.

Take care of yourself

I have been neglecting my health for a long time - physically and mentally. But as I began my climb I began to see great benefits in the time spent on me.

Counseling, spending time alone, eating a healthy diet, drinking less alcohol, getting more sleep, exercising regularly, getting up early - these changes all helped in my recovery.

If you are unhealthy or in poor health, you cannot fully engage with those people and the important things. So ask yourself, 'What else could I do today to improve my life?'

Find Contentment

Learning to be content with my situation has helped me to live a more purposeful life since I broke up. Finding contentment has brought us peace and gratitude and happiness, where there has been nothing for years.

I no longer feel that I deserve more in life. I know I can work towards goals and dreams - and I do, every day - but I no longer feel worthy of it. It is amazingly liberating.

If you can find satisfaction in life where you are now, the stress, anxiety, and stress that need to be so easily disappears, leaving you free to pursue your goals and dreams in a place of peace and acceptance.

Is It a Day?

Is today a day when you change things? Or will you wait for a sudden realization that you have arrived at a place you did not want or did not expect?

Its beauty, you do not have to wait - you can choose to change it today

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.