Motivation logo

Time to Thaw Out

Welcome to Spring. Are you ready to get motivated?

By Amanda MitchellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Time to Thaw Out
Photo by Z S on Unsplash

New England does not have a spring season.

I know that we are praised for having all four seasons but, it is simply a lie. What we have, is one week of spring weather, almost immediately followed by a snow storm, then a month of rain, and all of a sudden it is 80 degrees. There is nothing like getting a head start on your spring cleaning while it snows outside. That first warm week, often referred to as 'fool’s spring', sets our spring fever into motion regardless.

Every spring, I find myself resetting three things, first of which is always my car.

I know a lot of people first think to clean their house, but my car is what will inspire me to get organized. I am a Bostonian, which means I spend more time in traffic than I do socializing with my family. Basically, my car is a big part of my day.

When it's the first sunny and warm day, I like to soak in the vitamin D while driving aimlessly. I roll all my windows down, blare rock music, and let the sun turn my once raw chicken like complexion to a color more fitting for a living person. The only issue is I am a slob! I’ll admit it, I simply am unable to maintain a decent standard of cleanliness for both my car and room. It is very easy to let this go unnoticed when you are in a mental hibernation but, once you roll the winds down and the wind starts blowing around the disposable face mask, it becomes a problem.

I’ll clean out my car, vacuum the interior, and even add an air freshener. Once the inside is clean, it’s time for a carwash. I like to treat myself with whatever is the best wash package at the carwash because I am a fan of the rainbow soap. I’m a child I know, but doesn’t it just seem so fitting for spring?

Next up is my bedroom.

As I stated earlier, I have no standard of cleanliness for my room, which means it is less than organized, most of the year. Not in spring though! The cold weather, snow, and ice, destroy all ambition to look cute. That means my winter wardrobe is a disaster. There is nothing like cleaning out the dull, bulky sweater and replacing it with a sundress. All of a sudden there is room in my closet, because I won’t need to wear jackets thicker than Kim Kardashian.

Doing all my laundry, switching out my wardrobe, and dusting off those bikinis has always added a spark of hope and renewal, that helps in surviving that last blizzard that always seems to show up in the last week of March. After that I do a deep clean of the rest of my room, organize my bookshelf and make my bed. It might take all day but, once it is done, it is like a whole new world.

Lastly, and my least favorite, is organizing my mind. Seasonal depression is a real thing and it is important to take yourself out of that mindset to be ready for the spring.

I start with my physical goals for the year. I want to start doing yoga and be consistent with going to the gym. Financially, I want to improve my credit score and save enough money for a down payment on a house. Academically, I would like to read twenty books and stay consistent with my writing. Mentally, I’d like to find new outlets to destress and learn to focus on the positive instead of obsessing over the negative. Romantically, I have no goals. To me this is a full year of short term goals that will hopefully have a long term effect of my well being.

New Year’s resolutions never seem to work for me because when you live in New England, the cold has a way of settling itself into your bones. The spring has always been able to thaw me out and help me reset.

goals
2

About the Creator

Amanda Mitchell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.