Motivation logo

How To Avoid Cleaning Your Room

Things to do instead of cleaning

By Amanda MitchellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5
How To Avoid Cleaning Your Room
Photo by Onur Bahçıvancılar on Unsplash

I become one of the most productive people in the world whenever I have to clean my room. There is no end to the tasks I can come up with to avoid cleaning my room and doing my laundry. I’m not a perfect person, I'll admit it. Procrastination is my middle name.

I told myself all week, ‘I’ll do my laundry this weekend’ and ‘I will clean my room this weekend’. I have to get my wardrobe organized by the end of this weekend. It is currently 8:00pm on Sunday and here is the comprehensive list of all the things I did today instead of just cleaning my room.

In the morning, after I woke up, I made my coffee and re-watched the pilot episode to Lost from 2004. I then did yoga and got in a quick workout. Well I did 5 squats and a push-up, same difference. I then washed my hair, waxed my eyebrows and painted my nails.

After that, I ate some cereal and washed my makeup brushes. Then, I convinced myself I was having a stroke, looked up the symptoms of a stroke, realized I was not actually having a stroke and decided to make a cup of tea.

Next, I took a photo of myself holding a book, editing the photo for about an hour, then wrote a submission for a Vocal challenge. I then went on to create a playlist on my phone of the top 25 Taylor Swift songs that have made me cry. After that, I dried and curled my hair so that I could then immediately wear it in a bun.

I re-watched The Great Gatsby for the 10th time and accidently convinced myself I was having a heart attack. Seeing as I am 21, with no prior heart condition, and the only symptom being shoulder pain, I decided to eat a brownie.

I looked up the weather for the upcoming week and searched the minimum wage for the state of Montana. Then, I watched three Jenna Marbles videos on Youtube, looked to see if Fashion Nova was having a sale, and boiled water to make pasta. I ate the pasta, looked up how tall Leonardo DiCaprio is, then posted a selfie to Instagram.

I read the first chapter to ‘And the Mountains Echoed’ by Khaled Hosseini and searched the origin of gargoyles. Then I drove to the store, bought pokemon bandages, a bag of pretzels and some leave in conditioner. On the way home I stopped for gas, even though my tank was half full, and went through the carwash. Then I took a nap for two hours.

Basically, I spent the entire day doing absolute nonsense, just to postpone cleaning my room. Even now, I am writing and editing a random story just to avoid having to do my laundry. It is simply one of my toxic traits that I have yet to correct. I would work on it but, as you can see, I am simply selectively lazy.

I have tried things in the past to encourage me to clean my room. I looked up Pinterest organization tips, made a cleaning playlist with energetic music on it and watched videos of other people cleaning. Still, all that did was add to the list of things I could do instead of just cleaning my room.

Today, I am ready to take the first step to solving this issue. I will admit that I am powerless over my procrastination and that my life, as well as my bedroom, has become unmanageable. Well, actually… I’ll just do it tomorrow.

how to
5

About the Creator

Amanda Mitchell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.