Motivation logo

Three weeks in....

Three weeks in....it's going well most of the time

By Willow PeddyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Three weeks in....
Photo by Conscious Design on Unsplash

Last year....or was it the year before I decided to be one of those people who join the Gym and give them money for free while I decided to not go to the gym! Yeah it didn't work out along with the rest of those individuals who gave up. It just wasn't for me being amongst strangers sweating and panting working hard while I couldn't even figure out how to turn on the bike machine! I decided this year would be different I wouldn't lock myself in a room or force myself to run on a machine.

I decided to get back in to walking/hiking starting small I thought would be good so I walked round my local park good 20/30 round once... twice up the hill and home. Next thing I know I'm walking 13miles straight round a reservour ! Yes crazy I know. But but but ladies and gentlemen it was wonderful I got back into nature a detox from social media and I got some fantastic photos...if I do say so myself of nature in its finest.

The sun was out, the ground was wet, the birds were out and the breeze was pleasent. Oh how I missed it, for those of you with the attitude like my partner he thinks walking this long or far is pointless. But don't you worry I shall get him walking with me and show him just how wonderful it is, the things you see which can't be seen from the car window or glimpses of nature that crop up when you don't expect it is the true treasure.

Now I'm clumsy so yes I did slip and end up hands planted in the mud on all fours thinking one move could result in me sliding into the water which looked rather inviting.

The walk was relaxing but exhausting. I could feel my body working and my muscles aching. The numbing pain that throbbed from my hips was refreshing, knowing I had pushed my body making it work like it should. I was actually feeling tired, tired from doing something other than walking to the fridge and back. The kind of tired you reward yourself with after exhausting yourself physically.

I was accompanied by my Aunt ( Socially distanced don't you worry) we talked and talked and talked like us women tend to do. Conversation flowed and the silence of our thoughts were at bay. We covered Christmas presents to birthday ideas to how many satellites Elon Musk has...42,000 in-case you were wondering.

We reached the subject of my sister and how she was doing academically and reached the physical side of things. Now she is a brainy kid so intelligent with her dictionary vocabulary puts me to shame but she's not physically inclined. Now she's got problems from a rare heart condition to asthma and muscle problems in her legs! She tries hard to do the stuff her peers do but always struggles and has to stop. I mentioned that she can't cross her legs and well isn't doing her physio anymore! Pandemic issue related. My Aunt mentioned Yoga. She said how she has been doing it all throughout the lockdown and can now not so eagerly spring up with no hands from a sitting position on floor like her 7 year old grandson can.

The Yoga she uses is actually on a website for clothes -Sweaty Betty - she said how they helped her and I thought well why not make it my personal mission to get my sister to cross her legs. New years resolution made!! Now to get my sister on board.

I got home and spoke to her and she mentioned that she used to do it by herself but saw no improvements so gave up! Never give up....I said I would join her as she isn't one to do things by herself.

We are let,s say three weeks in doing the same video 30 minutes long. This video focuses on the legs and abdominal area. Very good too, I can now bend over and touch the floor with no issues and my sister can almost cross her legs comfortably. But i don't quite see what all the hype was about thought it was a relaxing sport! If we are not gasping for air or giggling over a slipped fart, it's the muscle stretches that burn making themselves know and my god that squad stretch gets me every time.

I have made my resolution not to benefit myself but to help and motivate my sister to stick to hers. So far its working she is making noticeable progress....let's see how long we can keep this going for shall we,

self help
Like

About the Creator

Willow Peddy

I am a 24yr old, looking for something in life to bring a spark of excitement and bring back my artistic and imaginative flare :)

I have strange and crazy dreams and people always tell me to write them down so here goes my dream diary!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.