Families logo

Is it the young who care for the old or vies versa

Its the young that keep the old young even if it's through their memories

By Willow PeddyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Is it the young who care for the old or vies versa
Photo by Rod Long on Unsplash

I try so hard to please all around and make all happy, as does everyone else. I'm no angel but i try and help those who need it.

While walking home one day from a 12 hour shift i saw this old man with a walking stick struggling with his shopping from his car up his steep drive way to his door. I approached him and asked if he needed some assistance which he was thrilled with as not enough young people offer help any more. Now he is all for his independence but allowed me to carry his bags, i also gave him my number and said of he required any help at all just to give me a phone call. Which he did, i have now helped this man every week for almost two years.

Background information

He is 80 year old and he's an inspiration who has lived a hard life and yet still gives all he's got to help those in need. He had two sons and had a devil for a wife, as he says anyway, one of his son committed suicide and he divorced his wife. His living son ignores him and he has no grandchildren or any family left, apart from his brother who lives miles away and his lady friend who he adores. Listening to him talk of his lady friend is like watching a romance his whole face lights up when he talks about her, he even talks to himself doing an impression of her voice when he misses her.

Unfortunately, he had a bad fall and broke his femur and is now unable to walk properly so he mobilises on a wheelchair, leaving him living on one floor. Even though his independence is on the line and he relies heavily on help he still makes sure that every one is cared for and still regularly donates money to so many charities i loose count. He is so intelligent and has never stopped working unless he has to. He teaches foreigners English or English people foreign languages.

Reality

This Christmas he was all alone, nobody wanted to go round or could due to lock down. So every other day leading up to Christmas I would stop by (Helping vulnerable was accepted plus i regularly get tested before you ask for C-19) id bake him goodies or stop for a cuppa. I even cooked my very first roast duck for him to have on his Christmas day. Which we were both excited about. I have seen him ever so low to not walking after his fall but i have noticed since ive been spending time with him, talking and helping him he has a new lease of life and has even started to walk again. Small and steady steps but progress.

I would like to be able to thank him for the opportunities and knowledge he has shared with me become a better person.

From one good deed i have helped an man live his life put food on his table and made a friendship for life. We live through each others company and stories we share with one another. I experience the years before i was born and he lives through my youth laughing and reminiscing at all the stupid, crazy and lovely things that happen in my life.

I am forever grateful for passing by and approaching him you never know where one good thing will lead to next.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Willow Peddy

I am a 24yr old, looking for something in life to bring a spark of excitement and bring back my artistic and imaginative flare :)

I have strange and crazy dreams and people always tell me to write them down so here goes my dream diary!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.