Motivation logo

Thoughts

Ever feel like there is too much floating in your head? Has COVID gotten you down? Let's reflect on the positive instead of the negative floating around.

By MICHELLE SMITHPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

Thoughts are running in and out of my mind. Stress is slowly creeping up where it doesn't belong. Feeling overwhelmed and insecure about what is to come. Not knowing what to expect or how to survive is a struggle. Who thought I would be feeling this low again? After being through it about two times. Now I feel like the ship is sinking and I can't overcome it. I can't pull myself up like I want to because it feels like something is holding me down. Where do I go? How do I proceed? Many questions running through my mind. I'm lucky if most days I know which way I'm coming and going. Life is hard! Oh, boy it is but it is also filled with wonderful things. Without the stress, I know that I have my children. They are a bright light in all that is going on. The laughter, smiles and just spending time together. We get so wrapped up in all that is going on that we forget to enjoy and embrace the little things. Don't let your life pass you by. Don't let the stress of the world hold you back from experiencing life's little joys. Take a step back. Take a moment to examine all that is around you. Look to see what your next step will be. Even during the darkest times or rough patches, you know that there is a little light shining through. Follow that light. Follow it to the end. Let the bright light shine through. We are strong and can get through anything as long as we put our minds to it. Take some time for yourself. Put yourself in a time-out. Give yourself time to think. All things will work out. You just need to remember to take that step back and analyze the situation. It isn't going to be easy. It will be hard but it is possible. Don't let the darkness wear you down. Pull yourself together. Set forth on the journey ahead. Put on a positive attitude and remind yourself that my friend you GOT THIS.

We have been given a challenge during this COVID-19 pandemic. We need to take this time to reflect on ourselves and our family. Stop finding the faults and stressful things throughout your day. Look for the shining light in all of this. We have the time now to take a step back, to reanalyze our life and what we are facing. Yes, we are facing challenging times but it isn't something that we can't overcome. Stress can run our life or we can say," You know what stress get back in that closet where you belong". This pandemic wasn't what we had in mind for the end of 2019-2020, but it happened. Now we need to take advantage of what is going on. Build with your family, fix your relationships or just simply enjoy learning more about you.

These thoughts float in my head constantly since this pandemic started. I know I am not alone. A lot of others are feeling the same but we just need to remind ourselves to take a time out. Don't let the stress of all that is going on stop you from what you want to achieve. I know that I am struggling in that area. This makes writing this easier, however, I never thought that 2021 would end up kind of the same as 2020. I welcomed my second child at the end of the 2020 year, but the stress still was building up. I've lost track of what my goals are and where I want to go in life. I wouldn't wish that on anyone. Don't let this crazy world and all the stress you are feeling let you lose the vision you have.

I've been faced with a family issue. Something I'd never want to even see my worse enemy face. However, I've learned to cope. I've noticed my strength in areas that I've always assumed that I am weak. Even in the darkest times right now I can pull myself together. Slowly I am figuring it out and even when I don't have a full plan I know that once will become noticeable soon. Patience isn't my strength but my advice to others is that we need to try and be patient. Be patient with each other, co-workers, family, and our government. Changes are coming whether we like it or not. We will be faced with choices that we don't want to choose but at the end of it all just remind yourself that you can do it. Don't lose yourself in the stress of it. Weigh out your options. Know also that you aren't alone.

These thoughts might be lingering in my head. Thoughts of what I am going to do to support my family but I also need to remind myself that I am not alone in that. Many other families and single people are struggling just a bad. We need to be there for each other the best we know-how. Surround yourself with positive people. Surround yourself with positive thinking. Remind yourself daily with sticky notes or note cards.

Keep the focus on you. Find things to reduce your stress. Remember, we didn't know this was going to happen. That we would become teachers, face family issues, and even work from home. There are many negative aspects to look at but we should weigh in the positive as well. Go! Enjoy your family, enjoy your time alone. Don't let your thoughts stress you out because we will never learn to enjoy the little things if we do.

advice
1

About the Creator

MICHELLE SMITH

Be the inspiration you want others to see. I just want to inspire others through poetry. We all need a bit of positivity and to know that there are others going through similar situations.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.