Motivation logo

This isn’t going to be easy

Great things never come from comfort zones

By Kimmiekins4Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
This isn’t going to be easy
Photo by Inside Weather on Unsplash

"The pain you feel today, will be the strength you feel tomorrow."

Day 2-5:

December 6th 2021

So if you saw my last post "The Beginning of My New Fitness Journey" than you'll know I've decided to blog my process. I figure it would be something good for me to look back on, and I also hope that it will reach at least on person and help them too. Everyones journey looks different, but I think we all face some of the same struggles no matter what path we are on.

Day 2 was supposed to be a 10 minute dance workout, but since I am not great at dancing I choose to do a 15 minute cardio video from MadFit instead. I almost got through the entire video, I was gasping for air but it still did it! I was sore from leg day so it proved to be a challenge for this workout. I am proud that I made it through regardless, but then I took this weekend off.

I normally wouldn't feel guilty for doing that especially if I had worked out all week. Since I just began working out though, I can already tell working out today will be tough. As the day progresses, I find myself coming up with any excuse I can to not do a workout today. On my break I decided to go to my apartment gym and hop on the elliptical. Just doing that made me feel better as work has really been trying my patience lately.

By Samuel Girven on Unsplash

"A little progress each day adds up to big results."

**After Work**

For the workout today it was a full body strength, and after the day I had I really didn't want to do anything other than zone out. But I did it anyway and that is a huge step for me!

Some other positives I wanted to point out is I can tell that my endurance is going up slowly. I can make it through at least most of a warm up without wanting to quit all together. I am able to last a few more reps in a set before I have to take a break. I have also gotten my plank back up to over one minute so that is exciting. Also I have almost drank half a gallon of water today, may not sound like much but I used to drink at least a gallon a day. Now I couldn't tell you what my water consumption is. I don't know about other people, but I can tell pretty quickly when I haven't had enough water.

A new thing I am experiencing that I am not used to is pain, just due to little movement over months, plus weight gain. I continue to try and push through it, but I must admit it discourages me at times. I know it won't last forever, and I can get through it.

I noticed that I love how I feel just after I am done walking/jogging on the elliptical. This is also new for me, because cardio is my nemesis. The only cardio I usually can tolerate is the rowing machine. I am hoping I will grow to tolerate cardio a little bit more, so on days I am not wanting to do a full workout I have something else I enjoy.

By Jungwoo Hong on Unsplash

"It hurts now but one day it will be your warm up."

All in all I am feeling good about my progress, I find I am becoming less frustrated and allowing my body to do what it can. I have found that since I stopped trying workouts I used to do and applying ones I can do has helped. I know that seems logical but I was trying to modify my old workouts, and I am just not at that level yet.

I will update my progress later this week, if you're on a fitness journey just remember you got this!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Kimmiekins4

I am a very creative person. I love reading, writing, listening to music, watching movies and shows. Writing has always been a way for me to express my feelings and thoughts. I'm excited to write some of my stories here on Vocal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.