Longevity logo

The Beginning of a New Fitness Journey

Starting over is tough, but not starting at all is tougher.

By Kimmiekins4Published 2 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - December 2021
16
The Beginning of a New Fitness Journey
Photo by Sven Mieke on Unsplash

"You may not be there yet, but you are closer than you were yesterday."

Day 1:

As I am writing this the day is December 2nd 2021. I know, pretty bad time to start considering its the month of the holidays. Normally I would agree, but now I believe anytime is a good time to start when you truly want to do something. Through this process of figuring out how I am going to get back into working out I have started to realize that this is the start of my new fitness journey. I keep comparing everything to where I was a few years back and every-time I do it discourages me from doing anything at all.

I am in a different headspace than I was then, and looking back I believe I was using working out as more of a distraction than for actually being healthy. But I am glad that I went through that, because either way I did fall in love with working out.

By Alexander Jawfox on Unsplash

"Be stronger than your excuses."

I have been the queen of excuses recently, I will find anyway to get out of working out. I was sitting there today and just really honest with myself about how uncomfortable I am, and I want to feel better. I am tired of feeling sluggish, being tired all the time, being angry, sad the list goes on.

I decided to check out a Youtuber I follow MadFit to see what video I wanted to do. That is when I saw a video she posted a couple days ago called "One Month Workout Plan." I believe this was meant to find me, to help motivate me. I am so bad about planning really anything, but workout especially. So I am happy that the month is planned out. So it was decided, after work I would do the first workout.

By M. on Unsplash

"Push yourself, because no one else is going to do it for you."

Things didn't go according to plan, at first. Once I logged off of work I felt overwhelmed from the workday, who knows what else, and then I began to cry. I was crying for many reasons, but I was ultimately upset with myself that I couldn't simply get myself to workout. So I laid down for a while to calm myself down, then I got myself up and turned on the video.

The workout of the day was legs, which happens to be my favorite workouts. I was nervous going in, even though it was only a 20 minute video. I told myself that I would only do what I could do and that was better than nothing at all. About 5 minutes into the workout I was ready to quit. Everything was hard to do, I felt uncomfortable, and most of all I was out of breath! So I paused the video and sat for a moment, and I told myself try one more round then see how you feel. So I did, and this happened a few more times but I made it to the end of the video.

By DESIGNECOLOGIST on Unsplash

"Do something today that your future self will thank you for."

I was proud of myself for seeing it through and not quit. Starting over in anything in life is so hard, but I know it's worth it in the end. I don't have a weight-loss goal, my only goal right now is to workout and feel better. My hope is to make it all 29 days ( I started a day late), but even if I did half I would still be happy. I tend big goals, and then become overwhelmed and that is when I fail. So this time my big goal is to complete the month, and my smaller goal is to do as many days as I can. Reminding myself to take things one day at a time.

I have decided to make a blog on here about my journey, and I am filming a Vlog as well but I am not sure if I will actually post the videos. I want to document my progress to have something to look back on. I also hope that it may help on person. To let them know they aren't alone, that it's okay to start over a million times, and while it will be hard you're stronger than you think you are.

fitness
16

About the Creator

Kimmiekins4

I am a very creative person. I love reading, writing, listening to music, watching movies and shows. Writing has always been a way for me to express my feelings and thoughts. I'm excited to write some of my stories here on Vocal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Justine Crowley6 months ago

    Thank you for sharing. I hope you went ahead with the vlogs as well. Great image choices as well.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.