Motivation logo

Things I'm Passionate About Part 11

A Brent Salmon Memoir

By Brent SalmonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Things I'm Passionate About Part 11
Photo by Tim Umphreys on Unsplash

My passions Part 11, I’m trying to group these together more instead of making them so broad. Enjoy!

1. Metaphysics

Metaphysics are the things that cannot be determined though objective measurements of the physical universe. In parapsychological circles, it’s the study of “science” or pseudo-science that encompasses supernatural phenomena, i.e. psychic powers, ghosts, mediumship, and the like. My interest in this spawned as a kid because what kid doesn’t love the idea of psychic powers or hearing ghost stories, especially ones that ACTUALLY HAPPENED!? My family and I used to experiment with Zener cards and telepathy games with some remarkably interesting results, though mom never let us play with Ouija boards because of an old family anecdote that scared the heck out of her. Once I got older and became a scientist, my interest didn’t wane at all, it got stronger. I found that I had become something of a debunker, but not in the sense that I was proving things to not be “real” or people to be charlatans, but more in the sense that the real magic, to me, was In explaining how these phenomenon could work, or be mistaken to work, based on the physical laws of the real-world and the exploits in human psychology. We’re amazing at fooling ourselves. For this topic, I’m going to be writing down my personal anecdotes and experiments, my suppositions for explaining how popular phenomena could work, and analyses of different cases amongst other things.

2. Cryptids

I’ve been interested in cryptids for as long as I’ve been interested in metaphysics and the paranormal. Ever since my Dad would tell us old family stories about the Sasquatch as kids, and my Grandfather would regale us with anecdotes about the time he encountered the Ogopogo from Lake Okanagan in Southeastern British Columbia. I’ve had a few encounters myself with creatures I couldn’t explain, and as a kid, was perfectly happy to attribute to being cryptid encounters. Now I’m either less sure, as memory fades with time, or I’ve learned a lot more about the wildlife in my area that I can actually explain much of what I encountered, even though it made for some fun and scary times and interesting stories to tell the kids. I’m going to talk about personal anecdotes of myself, my friends, and my family when I write about this subject, but also my hypotheses and ideas for explaining famous creature sightings and other things. I’ll also see if I can’t tackle some of the things from straight up mythology also, both based on archaeological evidence, and my crazy theories.

3. Supernatural (the Show)

Related to the first to subjects of this article, the TV show Supernatural. I haven’t watched it in a few years, but those first couple seasons were right up my alley. It was exactly the kind of life I wanted to do with my friends and family, travelling around the country, exploring supernatural occurrences, and finding out the truth, and possibly filming about it in order to fund it. It went a little far off the rails from its original vision, but I still really liked it for years. I haven’t much kept up with it because I haven’t been able to make the time, but with this new career path of writing I’ll have more time to indulge in it. I plan to write about it the same way I plan to write about my other show series articles; profiles on actors and show runners, characters, reviews of series, seasons and individual episodes, ideas inspired to me from each episode, and in the case of this show, analyses on some of the mythical elements of it.

And that was part 11! Thanks for reading!

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Brent Salmon

Dad, Dog Dad, wannabe polyglot, amateur engineer of all the things, pre-med biologist, medic, psych major, ex trauma-counsellor, programmer, artist, serial entrepreneur, occasional cyborg, and now, writer.

Facebook

Instagram

YouTube

Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.