Motivation logo

The Unconditional Type

My friend

By HummingbirdPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
1
The Unconditional Type
Photo by Hassan OUAJBIR on Unsplash

We grew up together. He is a part of my earliest memories. At that time, I didn't know he loved me. I just thought we were good friends because we were always together. I would feel so sad when I would be put down for my nap, as that would mean I couldn't play with him. I only realized it was love when I was in my thirties.

One day after school, a girl was picking a fight with me. She had a reputation for getting physical with people she didn't like. My friend approached her as I proceeded to ignore the commotion and kept heading on home. On Monday when we went back to school, there's this rumor going aroung that the girl changed schools. I didn't bother validating this rumor... I preferred keeping to myself and minding my own business. I particularly enjoyed observing society from a distance without people even knowing I existed...Until I just never saw her again. I didn't ask my friend what he had said to her. That's how unbothered I was. But, I knew something was up; I just didn't want to know what it was.

I was pretty smart but I took it for granted. I would never study for a test the way other people did. I just didn't understand the point of it. I thought to myself "we already learnt this, why would I need to re-read it". I also regarded homework as an option. I was one of those kids that if the teacher questioned you in the middle of the teaching, I would know the answer. So the teachers thought I was on top of my game. But one day I did not do my homework. The teacher was checking the students by walking down each aisle, looking at their book placed open on the table. My thoughts were racing. "Please let her walk past me." I was fidgeting with my bag to make it look like an "of course it's done" attitude. Just as she approached me, my friend said "ma'am, I think your phone is ringing". She raised her eyes from my book and dealt with the call. I put my book away hastily and she continued from the person in front of me. We low-fived as we exited the class.

When my parents went on vacation once, their flight was slightly delayed. This meant that when I got home from school, nobody was home. I stayed with my aunt while they were away. My aunt dropped me off at school that morning and we arranged for a pickup with another mom who lived on my street. It was going to be a couple hours. So I sat on the porch, waiting. No big deal. I did my homework. I read a novel. I sat with my thoughts. But it was starting to get dark. I didn't really want to be alone and I contemplated going to a neighbors house until my parents arrived. I looked to my right, and see my friend there! He was just sitting there in silence. In the corner, undisturbed, looking out at the road and blending in with the background. We made eye contact. He nodded. I smiled.

In my early twenties, I went though some hardship. My friend was always there to hear me bawl when I called. He would just listen. He would encourage me. He would question me in a way that made it seem as if I was the one who came up with the solution. It's almost like he trained me to think differently. He would visit me as often as I needed him to. It was wonderful. We would talk for hours. He would say things like "I'll always be there for you, whenever you need me, just call". And he always was... and still is. Thank you Jesus.

goalshappiness
1

About the Creator

Hummingbird

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    Oh wow, I wasn't expected it to be Jesus! Also, whoaaaa, you're like super brilliant at school! I wish I had your brains!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.