Motivation logo

The Theory of 'What Happens After Death' That Saved My Life

I had the strangest of dreams in one of the darkest periods of my life, and it saved me.

By Kiara KingPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Sunset view 17/06/19—Curtesy of Léa B-W

I had the strangest of dreams in one of the darkest periods of my life, and it saved me. It was the beginning of 2011 and I was in one of the worst states that I've ever been in. I had been through a lot in my life, and at that time, the cherry on top was that I had been sexually assaulted. I was sick and tired of living my life and I was under a blanket of depression and dark thoughts.

One night, after nights of endless and dreamless sleep, I had a very strange dream.

It started with pure darkness. There was a voice that called out to me. It was never explained visually or audibly, but in that moment I knew the darkness signified death. It was a thing that I'd think about a lot late at night. The voice explained to me that the process was, once you've lived your full life, you would come to a decision.

This decision was:

1) Having lived your full life, you decide to keep it, and then you would have lived that life on earth.

Or 2) Having lived your full life, you decide to change it, this means that it would have ceased to have existed (it's important to think that in this odd theory, time is not linear.)

I know it sounds silly, but this dream changed a large part of my life. The idea that this could be possible, meant that if I did believe it, that there was a reason for me being here on Earth. Believing this theory gives me a purpose: This theory means that I chose to live my life, so it must have some value in it, for me to decide to keep living it.

You don't need to believe in this theory to have a purpose, and help you get through a dark period. I think that, most likely, my brain created it in order for me to survive and get on with my life; but I can guarantee you, believing in the idea that anything could be possible after death can actually release a world of possibilities for you.

If you're religious, you might understand having the idea of a heaven, a safe haven you can rest in peace in after your good work on the Earth is done and over, can be extremely motivating but all the while scary.

If you open yourself up to the possibility that there is something to look forward to, that you are on this Earth and on this path for a reason, you will know—like I did—that you need to live on.

And for all I know, this is all bullshit. But why not explore a possibility of thinking a certain way if you know it will help you think of life in a new light? It's at least worth a try.

No matter what you think or believe, you should be open to hearing about other peoples' ideas, and be open to the possibility that anything is possible, until you know it. Anything and everything has the potential to happen after death.

Another big misconception in the way we look at life and life after death is that if there is nothing after we die, why bother? I used to think that way. I used to think, what's the point? What really is the point if nothing matters and we'll all just die and be forgotten anyway?

Looking back, I can see how naive I was being. If there is no point, if we're all just going to die or cease to exist, then why would you even want to suffer in the brief period of time you have? Why not live a happy life, rather than sulk around in misery?

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Kiara King

I am a 22 year old uni student, sharing my stories in an attempt to help and support others. As well as trying to make a teeny bit of money to help along the way :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.