Motivation logo

The ships by the Sea...

The troubled waters we all go through.

By Ellie HouckPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

I woke up, suddenly, from a dream. I didn’t know what to think about that dream, that reacurring dream about the ship on the horizon. Always heading towards me, always uncertain of why it picked me. What does this dream, this ship, have to do with me. As I got up to get ready to go to work, I kept thinking about what this could be symbolizing in my life. What could it mean...

As I got to work Freddie jumped on me, your late! I said sorry, had that dream again. He said to me hey how bout gettin you a counselor to figure this out, so I don’t have to come in early to cover you. As I go over it again and again in my head, I suddenly find myself peaceful on the ocean in my own boat, quiet, the waves gently hitting the sides of my boat as I rest peacefully soaking in the waves and the rays of the sun. Suddenly things get dark, I sit up, and the rays of sun have disappeared behind a cloud, I hear a faint whisper in the distance, destiny, it says my name.

Suddenly I see a ship in the distance coming towards me, I am not afraid but I am alert to what is going on around me. I remember what my grandmother told me about her old religion and the end times coming near. I wonder does this have anything to do with that, is it a message specifically to me. I come to realize I have a customer in front of me. How can I help you today? As I smile stupidly big. The customer rolls her eyes at me, used to my akward behavior and tells me she wants her usual, blueberry scone and toffee latte.

I get her stuff for her she pays, and slyly smiles at me and says thank you. Thank God for the regular customers who understand my quirky ways and aren’t ruffled by them. I work until 9 pm and clock out. Freddie says to me as I’m leaving, be here on time tomorrow, although I know you won’t! I said ok, I’ll make sure not to disappoint. As I’m walking home I remember what my grandmother said to me about a book she had left me, her journal.

I raced home determined to find it. I got up in my attic and dug through her old chest she left me before she passed. I dug for about 5-10 minutes but finally found it. Her journal. I opened it up and the first thing I found in it was a ship, almost exactly like the one in my dreams. I looked at it and realized, a force bigger than me was bringing this to my attention. Making me ask myself questions, I wouldn’t normally ask myself.

What does this ship represent, what do I believe in as far as my soul, spiritual self and the people around me. What will I stand on when the tides turn and I have to make a decision. What will I believe when it comes time to believe in something. As I looked down I saw something in the picture I had forgotten about. A lighthouse. That light house always stood out to me as hope, as a light in the darkness. I always remember my grandmother talking about being the light in a dark world.

I stood up and remembered what I needed to be to those around me. A light in a dark world, that ship represent me, on an uncertain path, but with the light of the light house, it will always guide me through the troubled waters I will face ahead of me. It’s not about me, it’s about the people I meet along the way. We all have decisions we have to make on our journey along these troubled waters. Will we look to the light house to guide our ships, or will we turn away and stay in the darkness against the uncertain waters and try to light our own path?

As I got ready for bed, I asked myself these questions, I faded off into the night into a deep sleep. I woke up the next morning, certain of what I knew, that I no longer dreamed of that ship along the horizon but that I had a purpose, a meaning for my life. Let my light shine to people. I have a purpose, a reason for being, and i will let that light house shine bright through me. Shine bright for all to see so that I might help guide people out of their troubled waters into a new light shining bright on that horizon for all the ships that I see....

healing

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    EHWritten by Ellie Houck

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.