Motivation logo

The night I saw the devil himself!!

A road too often traveled by too many

By Shattered Never Broken (Ms Riley)Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I’ve always wondered why I was born in a world so dark and cold, survival seems to be all one ever known. An innocent child brought into a world surrounded by violence and hatred and little love for her is usually destined to fail, but not me, even as an infant for some reason I refused to give up!! Failure was never an option for me, I was determined to survive!! At just thirteen years old I had been through more than any young girl my age should’ve ever had to experience, being molested daily by my own brothers while my mother was working, yes the brothers who were supposed to be protecting me were amongst the very ones destroying me mentally and abusing me physically, but it don’t stop there, that wasn’t even the beginning. As a child I’d been molested so many times by there age of thirteen until that was all I knew, it was normal for me, but it never say right with me. Life was so dark and cold and lonely for me, but what was I to do? My dad was absent from my life and my mother was drunk when she wasn’t working, so I had no one to protect me, I was surviving a life that no child should ever have to imagine. Then one night as I was sleeping in bed, I had another nightmare, they were common to me, I had them all the time and would wake up screaming. My mother said I had nightmares because I was so mean and evil but it wasn’t until a few years ago that I realized my nightmares were generated from all the trauma I had faced in my life, being molested all your life but not just by your brothers, but your uncle, brothers friends and of course your mother’s boyfriend are all the more reason for you to be afraid your entire life and only is definitely a great recipe for nightmares. Well this particular night was different, I woke up in my dream, I shared a room with my sister and we had separate beds across from one another, she had to have been no more than five years old at the time and sound asleep. This night I was awakened by a tugging on my blanket, and when I opened my eyes I was scared stiff for a moment, I saw a man’s dark figure standing next to my bed and he had a gold hoop like ring that he was trying to pull up over my body, this ring started at my feet and he was pulling it up towards my head, it was almost at my knees. Suddenly I was able to breathe and I tried to scream, but this figure of a man put his hand over my mouth and said....ssssshhhh you have to be quiet, but I couldn’t, I didn’t know what was going on but I knew it wasn’t good, so I started kicking to get that ring from around my legs and feet and add I kicked he had to move his hands from my mouth, and I started to scream but he instantly covered my mouth again, he looked in my eyes with his red scary eyes and told me that he wanted me for himself and that I was his. I started crying so hard and kicking as hard as I could because I knew he couldn’t hold my mouth and pull that ring up on me and finally I was able to kick it off my feet and I plunged for my little sister’s bed, but this demon wasn’t giving up so easy, he tried to pull me back but I had grabbed a hold of my sister and he yelled, let her go!! I can’t take her she’s too young!! But I couldn’t let her go because I knew that to let her go would mean for him to take me, so I held on with all the strength I had and I screamed to the top of my voice, finally my mother heard me from downstairs and I could hear her running up the stairs to my room, he must’ve heard her too because he instantly went out the window. When my mother got to our room and turned on the light, I was in bed with my sister cuddled so close to her and pulling her so close to me that she had began to cry, my mother asked me what’s wrong and she saw me trembling with fear and pried my hands and arms from around my sister, when I told her what happened she didn’t believe me, once again she said...” you’re just having nightmares because you’re so mean and evil “, but I told her no, look at my window, she looked and it was opened and the curtains blowing from the night wind. My mother asked how the window got opened because she had locked it before we went to bed and I told her, it wasn’ta dream it was real, the devil went out the window when she started up the stairs. That was the night my mother gave me my own Bible and told me whenever I had a bad dream or nightmare to call out Jesus name in my dream. Needless to say, I’ve had a lot, more than my share of nights I’ve had to call out Jesus’s name as I dreamt. But this was only the beginning!!

healing
Like

About the Creator

Shattered Never Broken (Ms Riley)

I grew up in a dark and lonely world, where sweeping things under the rug was a norm, but when your rug becomes a mountain that the devil himself climbs your world then becomes Shattered!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.