Motivation logo

The Most Underrated Part of The House That Can Give You Insights About Life

My favorite spot. Sharing with you a bit of my life

By Olivia MarlenePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
The Author

At 40, I'm trying to process all that happened in my life. I'm collecting past hurts, writing them down, and burning them to ashes so I can move on. They say that life begins at 40 and it's true. Now, I plan to leave the past, take with me the good, and be ready to live life to the fullest.

Every time I wanted to think and let my emotions pour, I don't wrap myself with a blanket on the cozy bed. I don't offer myself to the chilling wind in the garden. The kitchen for me is off-limits because I resist binge eating. The living room is labeled "living" so I stay there where I got the energy to join the family, alive and kicking.

Where Do I Stay When I Need To Think and Be Alone?

Answer: I tuck myself on a spot in our stairs. See my picture above. See how happy I am when I'm there. It's a place that offers me comfort. An unassuming place that never judges. 

Why the Stairs?

People laugh when I tell them that my favorite part of the house is the staircase. I love it because it's a place that represents me, my achievements, and my aspirations. 

When I stay on its planks and look down, my fears subside and my hopes get up. Because its planks tell me that I have traveled this far. I can take more steps, sometimes mysterious steps, but one thing is sure. Definitely, I'm going up.

My Life Mantra Pertains To Stairs

Take the first step in faith. You don't have to see the whole staircase, just take the first step. -- Martin Luther King

Faith, that's all I've got. I fought life's battle as a child. I struggled so much to be where I am now. I'm a poor girl turned lawyer. I made it through leaps of faith. I took the ladder of life one step at a time. 

Stairs Are Underrated but They Are Grand

We regard them as mere transitions, something that will take us up and down. Do we even regard them as part of our house? It's always a yes for me.

Stairs signify grandness. The more steps, the more palatial a structure is. The stairs can take you up to see a better, wider, and more magnificent view than someone who is below.

As someone who lived in a house comparable to a shanty, I'm in awe that now I get to sit on my own simple stairs. It's simple, but it's my own. The steps are not plush but they offer me a place to sit. An area to be alone. A spot to stay when my eyes are still closed and I'm not ready to face the world.

Our stairs. Photo by Author

I adorn our stairs with plants to make it look alive. In the picture above, you see 3 plants but those in plastic are getting ready to be transported to my mom. I wanted to share with her everything nice and beautiful.

Before I end up sharing about my favorite place in the house, let me share with you some musings that I've got:

Life Lessons Given By The Stairs

1. Some staircases come with twists and turns but it will take you to only one destination- to the top.

In life, the goals on top seem afar. But you won't get there unless you take the first step. Once you started the climb, it won't be direct and straight. You will stumble with a turn, a change of direction, or a blank wall. But continue the climb if you want to get to your destination.

2. Climb one step at a time. Don't take shortcuts or you will risk your life. 

In life, be careful with your steps. Take calculated risks. Plan and don't haste. You wouldn't want to run and fall or bump yourself into a wall. 

3. Climbing the stairs will require energy but it's good for your health.

Tackling life needs energy and determination. You have to fight to survive then succeed. It's not easy but with the energy you spent, you will reap growth in all areas of your life.

4. You have to make sure your stairs are free of clutter to avoid accidents.

In life, you need clarity of thoughts and actions. You need clear goals. A stray decision will send you tumbling down. Never put a stray object like a pen on your stairs, self-explanatory my dear friends.

5. The view at the top is always wide and pleasing. 

I told it a million times when you take the steps up, one step at a time you will go wind up the top. You will see better, brighter, and detailed. You can see far and wide. You can broaden your horizons and insights into life.

Thanks for your time to read a piece of my life and simple advice. Next time you take your stairs, be mindful. Your stairs also need love. Try sitting down on its lap for a while.

If you want to know more about me, I have summarized the last 20 years of my life in this story:

If you liked my story, you can leave me a tip. You can be the first one to give me some and it will be a wonderful experience. My great appreciation will bring it back to you a hundredfold. Wishing you the best for this year!

happiness

About the Creator

Olivia Marlene

Member of the Legal Profession * Saving and Investing Enthusiast *Blogger * Mom * Wife

You can follow me on Facebook and Twitter

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Olivia MarleneWritten by Olivia Marlene

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.