Motivation logo

The Kindness Revolution

Small is Big

By Chelsea SpackPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
My Instagram post about the fundraiser for CHARITY:WATER I held at a cycling studio in NYC!

So, here’s the thing. I’ve been a fan of KINDNESS for a long time. I’m a long time believer in the impact of small, seemingly insignificant acts of kindness. I love finding ways to spread kindness. I love hosting “Kindness Challenges”on my Instagram from time to time, encouraging people to intentionally be kind to someone for no reason. In addition, I started an IGTV series called COFFEE+CREATIVITY, where I talk ALOT about kindness and how it can fuel our creativity (while drinking a cup of coffee, of course). A couple of years ago, for my birthday, I hosted a fundraiser for CHARITY:WATER, an amazing organization helping countries across the globe get access to clean water. The event took place at a cycling studio where my friends and I sweated it out while raising money for people to have access to clean water. But recently, I was the recipient of some kindness and it impacted me in a big way: it reminded me of the huge, revolutionary effect a small act of kindness can have. I’ve attached here an episode of my previously mentioned IGTV series where I discuss this stranger’s kindness (start at 0:48)!

My friends who came out to support my fundraiser in NYC!

Here’s the story of this person’s kindness: a few months ago, I was having a rough day. I’m normally pretty freakin’ good at keeping a positive mindset. Keeping myself inspired is like my modus operandi. I strive to be engaged in the world around me and present to the moment. I work towards living and giving with purpose. You get the point. Some days, though, you just feel plain CRABBY and DOWN. Sometimes it feels like no matter how hard you try to pull yourself UP, and get your mind right, you just can’t. And that’s ok! We are all human and sometimes we need to let ourselves just be sad.

So, I was having one of those days. I was running some errands and checking a few things off of my to-do list, and made a call to an art-supplies store about an online order. The customer service representative who answered my call was SO RIDICULOUSLY KIND, for no reason, it completely and instantly changed my mood. On top of that, this moment essentially changed my day. She didn’t have to do much. She just spoke to me as if I was somebody of value, the way we should all talk to everyone. She could have been simply civil and professional, but she went beyond this. She was kind. She made me feel like I was important. She even made me feel like she was truly thrilled to be talking to me and helping me. When the phone call ended, I said to myself, “Ok, bad mood is OVER.” I felt so touched by this woman’s kindness, I decided I was going to be extra kind to someone else and hopefully make their day better. Because of this woman’s simple act of kindness, there was an instant change in my mood, and I felt hope about life in general again! But wait, it gets better: her small act of kindness initiated the ripple effect. The ripple effect is “the continuing and spreading results of an event or action” (thank you, Google dictionary). Her kindness caused me to intentionally show kindness to someone else, which hopefully caused that person to breathe a little easier and show some love to someone in their life, and so on and so forth. A beautiful cycle of kindness had begun.

This stranger’s kindness reminded me of the revolutionary effect of kindness. One small, seemingly insignificant act of kindness can change the world, one person at a time. I am convinced that kindness is contagious. I think that performing a “random” or simple act of kindness for someone is one of the most powerful things we can do in our day. Never doubt the great impact of a small action. I’ve read countless stories of people whose very lives were turned around because of a stranger simply smiling at them.

Here's something wild about this whole kindness thing: in a way, it’s actually selfish. Doing something for someone else is like a magical trick to pull yourself out of a rut. It can not only change the world (one person at a time), but it can help re-spark your creativity, alter your mood, and put you back on the path towards living your best life!

Even something as simple as buying roses for a friend or stranger can make a huge difference in their life!

Feeling down? Creatively stuck? Uninspired, depressed, or just bored? I challenge you to do something for someone else today—no matter how small—and watch how it will pull you out of that rut, change your perspective, and ultimately, make a huge difference in the world. You’ll put the kindness cycle into motion and whether or not you see the results or receive any thanks, the world will be impacted, and you will be inspired.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Chelsea Spack

I love life!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.