Motivation logo

The Journey Home To Me

Home is Me and I am Home !

By Christina Nicole Published 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
A healing journey

Home used to be about going home after a long day, weeks, months on the road . One day lights are green , I’m flowing and grinding working hard and moving mountains ! Suddenly the light turns red and nothing is what it was . I’m in total shock of how fast my world has crumbled as I lay here broken with numerous injuries asking why this had to happen ! At first it feels like punishment as I watch all the pieces that were carefully placed together to build this life I had imagined fall apart, one by one , piece by piece , bit by bit till there is nothing left ! I am a shell a broken one at that stripped of everything ! Fear , anxiety and confusion are what I’m left with . You assume being a good person would mean protection from such TRAUMA ... Wrong! ...First thing I learned is to let go of my EXPECTATIONS on how life is supposed to go . As I wander down this dark and twisted path of enlightenment you start understanding exactly why this had to happen ! For me I was a well programmed and refined machine , the poster child of a female driver . Strong and confident with allot of respect from my fellow comrades . Up at 3.30 Am 70 hour clock time to go move some mountains ! In just one second reduced to a broken pile on my sofa sobbing wondering where I went wrong and how do I fix this ! Truth is you can’t fix this , you aren’t supposed to ! This is THE GROWTH PROCESS , once you take a deep look inside yourself you learn there’s reasons you ended up here . Let’s start with expectations, the world does not exist in perfection . Yes you could be doing everything right and still lose it all . There’s always lessons to be learned , things taken for granted , holding on to things or people that may no longer be serving your good or well being , fear , afraid to take chances .

For months I laid here bitter feeling robbed of all my glory and hard earned efforts it felt like such a cruel and harsh punishment . What’s left is that I’m still here where I once felt like I was going to die . How do I start over , where do I even begin ? So much pain for months my mind spun like the wheels on my tractor . I suddenly started little by little day by day understanding why my life needed to change as I laid here living out all my fears in real life watching my life play out like a lifetime movie . I started to have a fear of everything . Fear of losing ,fear of failing, fear of of being imperfect , fear of letting go, even fear of what’s next . I am left with so many questions and zero answers ! DETACHMENT ... watching everything and everyone leave me as swiftly as it all came ! Was it even my life ? Who was that person ? One day your unstoppable unbreakable on top of the world the next it’s (ground zero ) your starting over !

THE SHIFT ... from this point I decide to “flip the switch” . I decided for my mental protection in order to move forward I needed to forgive . Forgive the person that caused this , forgive myself for whatever mistakes of the past that are still hindering my progress ! MAKING PEACE .. by making peace with my situation “it is what it is “ , now I’m accepting where I am . There’s allot of work to be done here and this isn’t going to be easy . My path was changed for many reasons looking back I understand it all clearly now. MINDSET ... atlas that light that gets switched on in your mind! Now your acting instead of reacting to situations , your hearing as well as listening, your feeling and appreciating each day instead of just going through motions like that well refined machine filled with expectations of a false life ! Little by little day by day you get pieces of you back just by living in the now, free from your past because now you’ve released it , it no longer serves you . Now I understand how much I was living the past dwelling, letting past experiences dictate my life . In a sense it hardened me .

It’s been a year , I’m still not exactly where I was , I’m kind of glad , I found a beautiful new spark in life , I realized I was missing so much and giving so much I didn’t know when and where to stop ! This is where fate stepped in . Mighty little trucker lady independent and fearless got the biggest downgrade of all! To start over... Baby steps , first to get back up on that horse I developed a little plan to get my strength back I chose to use DoorDash yes I know laugh ... I even do ! Everyday I’ve been building up my body strength physically as well as improving my mind, head injuries are scary . This helped with improving memory remembering addresses, keeping orders straight , easiest routes, keeping my driving edge just dealing with daily traffic situations. There is always a mental stigma after being involved in any accident . Even just part time every bit helped serve a purpose in this grand scheme of progress I’m making .

PATIENCE ... this is where I’m at today . I’m not fully healed nor am I back to where I was . Through all this I learned I actually like people and find it more rewarding on a personal level to do this kind of driving job ! No shame in my game , doing what makes me happy . I’m walking with more confidence and faith these days starting over yes... but this time I’m armed with wisdom as well as an abundance of life lessons ! I am me but stronger , I am me but wiser , I am me but kinder , I am me but softer . The biggest lesson here was SELF LOVE ... it’s ok to fail , it’s ok to be defeated, it’s ok to be lost, it’s ok to be broken , it’s ok to be down . Sit with it , own it , this is the now not your final destination . It’s not ok to give up , set some boundaries , take care of yourself , learn to say no, lose people , detach from things , stop killing yourself for success , sometimes letting go is all you can do ! Now I see I am worthy of all my efforts even if I fail, I promise to get up .... here I am full circle ! Not where I was that was yesterday , Today is now and for right now I am home I am me !

healing
Like

About the Creator

Christina Nicole

Some chick that writes about anything and nothing . Successful writer I am not and half my work I’d like to trash lol However, it airs out my mind and feeds my soul and that is something if anything at all .

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.