Motivation logo

The Importance Of Life Changes

Embrace Change In Your Life

By Sarah ChenettePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
The Importance Of Life Changes
Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash

All I cared about was myself, friends, and partying. I got mixed in with the wrong crowd and started using drugs and drinking. My life started spiraling down hill fast!

When I was 18 I met a guy at a club and we started dating. A year later on Thanksgiving day 2013, I found out I was pregnant. I knew I had to turn my life around, So I left my child's father.

After having my son, his father started trying to get back together and said he had changed so I drove all the way to Oklahoma to try to make things work. It only took two days of being there for me to realize he hadn't changed, he got worse actually. So I packed up and left with my son in the middle of the night.

I moved back in with my father and he started showing me tough love, he put his foot down and started being stern when saying no! At first, being the spoiled brat that I was, it made me angry. I used to think he was just being mean or didn't care anymore. But now, I truly couldn't be more thankful that he showed me tough love. I honestly wish he would have done it sooner. I realized that my dad was only being tough so that he didn't enable me anymore and so that I could set a good example and be a good role model to my child. I look back at who I used to be, and I'm disgusted with that person. But If I had the chance to go back and redo it all over again, I'd do it the same way as before. I say that because if I would have never gone through all that, I wouldn't be the person and mother I am today. Everything I went through taught me a huge lesson. Now me and my dad are closer than ever, My son I am more independent, I refuse to call him for help unless I've tried every other option to figure it out myself first. 

I realize now that change, in its entirety and when handled well, is one of the best things that can ever happen. We are often resistant to change, and we don’t realize that change itself is constant. Even if you resist or avoid it, it will enter your life just the same. 

 

Change is a necessary part of life. Without change there would be no life at all. Our lives are actually fueled by change, though most of us want a certain amount of stability.

It’s not the change itself that we fear, it’s the adjustment that causes the stress that we fear the most. People prefer a predictable environment. When you know what to expect it is easier to be comfortable. It feels “safe”to avoid change.

Change is scary because you don't know what to expect. It means you have to be more aware of your surroundings and the people in it. More importantly in certain circumstances it could be dangerous and its difficult to gage how dangerous something is if you've never encountered it before. Whether it's dangerous for you, your finances, your home etc. It's the uncertainty that makes people uneasy.

 

Ironically, we are always changing, nothing truly stays the same forever.

 If you can learn to accept change as a helpful friend rather than something to be avoided, you may experience less stress.

The only way to overcome it is to embrace it. It’s to focus on all of what can be gained from that change rather than what it is you think you will lose.

It’s knowing that whatever happens, you CAN handle it. When it comes to change and uncertainty, we often over-estimate our worst-case scenarios and under-estimate our ability to handle them. Yet, how many times in your life can you recall a change, no matter how big or small, and you made it through okay. You are still alive and the Earth is still spinning.

The second step in knowing what to do will only ever reveal itself when you have faith to take the first step. Just have faith to take that first step, beyond that imaginary wall fear has built around you and your comfort zone, and the fear will start to diminish.

No matter what areas of life you prioritize in, you will find out that the only way to improve your situation and get ahead in life is through CHANGE.

 Change is not an easy thing to do, nor happens overnight. You need to endure and persist in the midst of making a change. No one will do it but you. And it won’t happen anytime

self help
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.