Motivation logo

THE FULL STORY OF MY ACADEMIC PURSUIT

THE FULL STORY OF MY ACADEMIC PURSUIT

By Abdullateef kabir opeyemiPublished about a year ago 8 min read
Like

It all started when I got my SSCE in 2005, then I applied to study Banking and Finance at Adekunle Ajasin University in Akungba, Akoko, Ondo State, butout, Mr. I wasn't admitted, so I decided to stay in the town because of the shame of going back . Afters, after some months, I applied again fo- a part time in Banking and Finance, then I was admitted but unable to pay my fees, so I had to drop out of school in 2008 but before that, I joined Para military club ( MAN O’ WAR) where I had the opportunity of meet many people, especially *Mr IKUSEMIJU AYOKUNLE who, nicknamed me BUFFALO.

On a faithful day, I had an issue with a taxi driver that led to my arrest by the police through the school authority, so when I was finally bailed out Mr ikusemiju had to pay for my transportation to Ibadan because I could no longer go back to Lagos, all in the name of shame. On getting to Ibadan, I was employed as a cleaner at the then-bank PHB Dugbe branch, where I worked for almost 2 years. After that while, a call came to me from Mr. Ikusemiju asking, "Can I still go to school?" I told him yes, then he linked me to his brother at Federal Polytechnic Ede, and I applied for a part-time program to study Banking and Finance at Federal Polytechnic Ede in 2010. As you can see, my love for banking and finance is without question. I was given admission, for my convenience I had to work my way from the PHB Dugbe branch to the Oso branch, which is close to Ede. Schooling and working are not as sweet as chocolate, so I kept my head up and did them simultaneously until later, when it was examination period, I went to my boss at work who had given me permission for 3 weeks to write the exam, denied my request and told me to choose between work and school. I finally choose school and left.

On getting to school, I was told I would need a school fees receipt to be able to enter the examination hall, which I had not paid, and it was already late to pay because I was not allowed to go to work to go and do the needful in school. Lucky for me, I was connected to the then rector, Dr. J.S. Oke, who wrote a letter for me to take to the ICT center, where I was finally able to pay my school fee, with my school fee paid, I printed out all the documents I needed for registration, and then the devil struck again.

On the day the exam started, I went to sign my exam slip at the department, It was supposed to be signed by the class adviser, Mr. Omotoso, but he referred me to the head of department (HOD), Mr. Oluwatusin, who couldn’t sign for some reasons undisclosed to me. On getting to the HOD's office, after careful inspection of my mode of dressing, he sent me out of his office all because I was wearing a 3-quarter Jean. It was around 8:30 in the morning, and the examination is going on already, so before I get to oshogbo, change into pants, and come back to school, which will be about 2 hours, the exam would have finished, so I gave up on school.

I gave up on school again, so I couldn’t go back to Ibadan, so I had to scoot with a friend, Mr. GBOLAGADE ABDULFATAI ADESHINA (nicknamed Uncle Faith), for some time for me to get my own apartment, but things became very hard, and when he packed out to another place, I still stayed in the house for some time until the landlord had to push me out with force because I had become a nuisance in the community, so I went to stay with another friend, Lanre.

Faced a lot of challenges until I met one lady who invited me to the church called "Winners chapel", on getting there the pastor’s preaching (Pastor Wale Oguntola) was targeted at me as if he knew me before, every word that was coming out of his mouth was miraculously matching what I was passing through, so when it was time for alter call 'I came out crying for the first time in my life' then he prayed for me and collect my contact and address, after the whole service, he came to check on me, prayed for me and also gave me money, that’s was how I joined WINNERS, he also asked me if I was a student but God knows what I was thinking (I deceived him by saying YES) but to be honest "I was so shamed to say the truth" so he made me the Transportation coordinator of the church crew.

My lie was so strong that nothing could put it asunder until April 14th, 2012, when we had a fatal accident on our way to church. We were rushed to Lautech Teaching Hospital in Osogbo, after some series of tests, the doctor said I was okay, but others were admitted, and some were transferred to the OBAFEMI AWOLOWO UNIVERSITY Teaching Hospital. Ile Ife, my pastor (Pastor Wale Oguntola), whom I had lied to, asked the doctor if I could go back to Ede so they could continue the treatment for me at the school medical center, and fortunately he was currently working there, so I finally had to drop the lie by telling him the bitter truth that "I am not a student of the school or a student of any school for that matter." He was concerned and asked, "Then what have you been doing all this while?" I told him nothing and that I was just begging people to eat. He then asked me if I could work with his brother, Mr. Oguntola Adebayo. What choice do I have but to say yes?.

His brother taught me sound engineering for almost two years. On a faithful day in 2015, he asked me to go back to school and bought a part-time form for me to study my dream course, Banking and Finance, since I so much loved it. To God be the glory, I was admitted, he left for America and he gave me the key of the studio to manage. The idea was to ease my pain when it comes to paying of school fees and taking care of myself.

Studio was fun, I now start making small change for myself, meanwhile, I met some people at the studio before joining, that makes it somehow tough when he gave me the key because people I met there and those that came after me were not happy with me, one day when Pastor Wale want to do his annual concert, we are to set up the speakers inwhich I had told one of them while work together that I have rented out one of the speakers which will be returned in the night, since the program is starting the next day, I will return the speaker before the program kick off, I had no idea that I was talking to a traitor who went ahead and narrate for Pastor Wale, Pastor pretend as if he didn't know anything, he called me and asked of the speaker (Again lie lie) I lied to him that it was at the studio, since he already knows the whole story, he ask me to follow him to the studio, it was when we get there I dropped the lie myself, he was so mad at me because I deceived him and he hates people telling lies, that was how I lost the golden opportunity (anyways hustle continues) so i continued to face life the way it faces me.

Going to class and doing everything for higher grades, one day during our tutorial class, the lady talking us account did a mistake in which i corrected her, I understand the course she is taken us very well, she gave me an insult [one that I have never received before in my life which lead to aggravation of anger in me, so I left the class to avoid an atomic scene, not knowing she will be sitting directly in front of me during exam, so when we started exam she was trying to copy from me, reporting her to the invigilator was the easiest things I have ever did in my life, although, even if I had allowed her, getting caught might lead to rustication or expulsion from school, so the invigilator separated my seat from hers, when the result came out, she failed the course along side with many other students, I felt bittered because I corrected her but she insulted me instead, that was how i started taking tutorials to be impacting on students like me, upon all my Good Samaritan, when the result came out, my Grade Point was 2.99 { lower credit } I was very sad upon how serious I was, then I decided I will not read again, I will only be tutoring others, like that I graduated with lower credit for my NATIONAL DIPLOMA because of my lazy decision.

After graduation, I went back to Ibadan, and my parents were halo to see me after several years of leaving, hoping that I had finished my HIGHER NATIONAL DIPLOMA (HND), while I just finished my NATIONAL DIPLOMA (ND), I let their thought remain that way that I had finished my HND, been at home is not fun (had to work as ‘there's no food for a lazy man), so I was employed at SUMAC Foods, where I saw hell for a year because that company was another life entirely, after that I left there and went to work with one Igbo man who sells drinks, I work as a motor boy, we travel a lot to deliver and also buys drinks, it was through this I know many places in Nigeria, I worked with him for almost a year until I met one of my coursemate named idowu Omolade in oshogbo who inspired me to go back for my HND, she, with oderade Jumoke and adeniran Opeyemi, so I obtained the form and was admitted in full time while they were in DPT (Daily part time).

Going back to school was how I met my wonderful friends like mutiu Opeyemi, Jimoh Sodiq dele, ilori omolola, even the President of my Department who is writing my story now and there rest, these wonderful people assured me in paying fees and taking care of myself, after studying hard the first semester examination which the result was still lower credit 2.94, then I became mad at myself that this is not how it should be going, later I was appointed the Organising coordinator of winners campus fellowship after the second semester, my Grade point dropped to 2.90 (lower credit again) then I started praying and working tirelessly for the growth of the fellowship, main church and my academics so my HND 2 will be better, the first semester Hnd2 rose to 2.97 then I told myself that the second semester HND 2 is the last chance I have because that was the last semester so I intensified my work with God more, after the examinations I started envagelising to people and I forgot totally about my result but when the rest was out, behold it was a testimony I wrote upper credit for that last semester and also finished with 3.02 which is upper credit. I was so happy, which pushed me and inspired this story.

To all readers: Don't give up (you will get there one way or another). "God is not a user of men; he is a rewarder of men."

Thanks for reading.

2023🔚

goals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.