Motivation logo

The Epic Pickleball Rematch

I woke up at 6 am, filled with nervous excitement. Today was the day I had been waiting weeks for - the rematch pickleball tournament at the rec center.

By MiaBellPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
2
Pickleball Tournament

I woke up at 6 am, filled with nervous excitement. Today was the day I had been waiting weeks for - the rematch pickleball tournament at the rec center.

My partner, Hank, and I had made it all the way to the finals of the last tournament before disaster struck. Just as we were preparing for the final match, Hank threw out his back and couldn’t play. Our dreams of winning the championship were crushed in an instant.

Luckily, my neighbor Julie had been watching the tournament and volunteered to substitute for Hank at the last minute. Even though I had taught her some pickleball basics the summer before in our pickleball community, I had no idea if she was ready for high-stakes competition. But Julie insisted she was up for the challenge.

To my utter shock, Julie played remarkably well during that final match. She hustled all over the court, returning shots with precision. On match point, she made a diving shot to win us the title! I was blown away by her skill and determination under pressure.

In the weeks after our surprise victory, Hank’s back healed up quickly. He was eager for a rematch at today's tournament. “We’ve got unfinished business to take care of,” he said with a gleam in his eye.

I knew Hank was right. As amazing as winning with Julie was, deep down I wanted the chance to win the championship with my regular partner.

The day of the rematch arrived. Hank and I felt our chemistry clicking again during the early rounds. We advanced easily to the finals once more. And who was our opponent? None other than Julie and her new partner, Mike.

I will admit, when I walked onto that court across from Julie, my stomach did a little flip-flop. Could I really beat the teammate who had saved the day last time? Julie smiled confidently at me from across the net. Game on.

The match was back and forth from the start. Julie had clearly kept improving after the last tourney. She and Mike had us sprinting all over to make returns. Whenever Hank and I started building momentum, Julie would come up with a clutch shot to shut us down.

By halftime, Julie and Mike had a slight lead. Hank and I regrouped and strategized. We decided to go into attack mode, being more aggressive at the net to force errors.

The plan worked. We rallied from behind to even the score at match point. My palms were sweaty as I gripped my paddle tightly. I glanced at Julie one more time before Hank served, meeting her steely gaze for a silent battle cry.

The rally on match point seemed to last forever. We were all over that court smacking balls back and forth. My legs burned as I dashed side to side. I dove wildly to retrieve a shot from Mike, screeching my shoes on the floor. From my knees, I somehow angled my paddle perfectly to lob the ball over Julie's head. Hank slammed the volley down the line past a sprinting Mike. We had won!

I whooped loudly and leapt into a hug with Hank. I caught Julie's eye as she came to the net for the customary handshake. "Great match," I told her sincerely. She nodded and smiled.

Though I was thrilled to win with Hank, I knew Julie's growth is what pushed me to raise my game too. The healthy rivalry between us had fueled so much personal improvement over the past months. As we left the court together after that hard-fought battle, I realized competing against friends can make us all better players. And that is the greatest victory of all.

goalssuccesshappiness
2

About the Creator

MiaBell

I live and breathe pickleball! I started playing this paddle sport after retiring 5 years ago and now I'm hooked. I play at my local rec center 3-4 times a week with my regular group.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

MiaBell is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.