Motivation logo

The Case for Personal Trainers

they're not all jocks . . . .

By Marguerite FloydPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

After a couple of serious illnesses left me, in part, with impaired balance, I decided I’d have to get serious about my health. I have no intention of moving into my next decade wheelchair bound or stumbling about with a walker or lying on the couch gaining an extra hundred pounds.

In late January 2020 I began going to our local senior center to try out some of their exercise classes, though I dislike exercise and exercise classes. The classes were fine, but I knew they weren’t going to be enough.

The senior center offered personal trainers for members at a discounted price. Maybe that was what I needed — someone who wouldn’t listen to my excuses, and if I had to pay money I’d be less likely to slack off, right?

My idea of personal trainers was of young insolent guys with bulging muscles who’d look at me and order “drop and give me 20.” There were women trainers, of course, but I doubted any tiny Spandex-clad woman could pick me up if I fell.

Bob turned out to be a pleasant surprise. He was not a jock flexing his muscles, and there was no veiled disgust on his face when he saw an older, overweight, very much out of shape woman. He was closer to my age than I had dared hope. We talked about why I wanted to work with a personal trainer, what my fitness goals were. I was honest that I wanted to walk again without a cane, which meant dealing head on with my balance issues. He made suggestions about free classes at the senior center and said that should I decide to go the personal trainer route I had only to call him. No pressure whatsoever.

I called him two days later to make our first appointment at the senior center.

The first 30-minute session began with me riding one of the stationary bikes for ten minutes. Then Bob gave me a brief tour of gym equipment. I don’t recall the name of the machines Bob took me to, but they involved pulling and releasing weighted metal cables that offered just enough resistance to notice. It wasn’t long before our chit chat had me laughing as I worked.

Laughing while exercising? Me?

Bob’s full-time job is as an instructor and trainer at the YMCA. When the senior center closed because of the plague, Bob and the YMCA staff spent days disinfecting every single item and space in the facility before opening to care for children of first responders.

When that program ended and the YMCA opened again for members, I took advantage of the free membership offered by Silver Sneakers. The membership included personal training sessions at a discount. I paid for ten sessions, and my work with Bob began in earnest.

Bob explains each of the exercises, what muscle groups they benefit, and why they’re specifically good for me. He is always firm but kind with his instructions. He told me, early on, that my posture was terrible, which I hadn’t realized. Now I remind myself to stand or sit tall several times a day.

He pushes me just a bit harder each week. When I complain that a weight is too heavy or a movement too complicated he insists I try any way and then lavishes praise on me when I discover that I actually can do it. He has always had more confidence in my physical capabilities than I do. I’m still unable to pick up a forty-five pound bar, but I’m now determined to keep getting stronger until I can.

I learn new things every week. I now know what “spotting” means in weight lifting. I’ve learned that a muscle needs to become “fatigued” before it becomes stronger. I’ve learned to create new curse words under my breath while trying to lift that forty-five pound bar.

I am amazed that no matter how hard I work or how difficult the session I am never sore the next day. I often find myself waking up feeling a relaxed sense of well being. My body seems pleased that forgotten muscles are being used again. I sleep a little better. A few times I even act on impulse to go to one of the other YMCAs and do laps or work out on their equipment. My friends casually ask if I’ve lost weight or note that a familiar outfit suits me.

Is my balance better? Sometimes yes, sometimes no, but my confidence in my body has increased a great deal. I pay closer attention to my body now, including heeding what my appetite wants rather than the usual junk food. I’m not completely free of fat burgers and fries just yet, but I suspect Burger King and McDonald’s have noticed a decrease in revenue.

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Should you decide to try personal training, here are some things to keep in mind:

• Tell your doctor, who will tell you if there’s anything you should avoid.

• Ask your trainer if they’re certified and why they chose that type of certification.

• Be honest about your goals and tolerances.

• Trust your instincts.

• Be respectful and treat your trainer as well as you can.

• A good personal trainer is worth their weight in gold. I should know.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Marguerite Floyd

writer, editor, poet, parrot person, author of four books (available on Amazon, of course)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.