Motivation logo

The Bold Red Lip

Or, how to turn heads.

By Chelsea SpackPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Me, in Paris, getting ready for a night out for a night at Le Théâtre!

“Give a woman the right lipstick and she can conquer the world.” —Unknown.

I believe in the power of a bold, red lip.

We’ve all witnessed a woman walk into the room, and immediately all eyes are on her. Every head turns to catch a glimpse as she passes by them. There is a palpable energy exuding from her. She is simultaneously fierce and kind, strong yet gentle, sexy and approachable. She seems to have the kind of confidence that grabs life by the horns, opens wide her arms to love, and smiles at the future.

Behold the power of the RED LIP.

You’ve heard of it, you’ve seen it, or you’ve experienced it. Because the red lip is timeless.

Like a good pair of jeans, the perfect heel, and a designer bag, red lipstick never goes out of style.

As an actress, host, and all around life-enthusiast, I have found the red lip to be my go-to, staple, beauty item. You will never catch me without red lipstick in my purse.

Me, apparently wearing red lipstick at the age of 6! Talk about a true devoteé.

BTS: On set shooting a TV series in New York, wearing a pink-red lip (#TB to red hair!)

I have found the right shade of red lipstick to have a sort of magical power. It seeems to endow the person wearing it with a vibrancy and a confidence that is beautiful to behold.

Practically speaking, red lipstick brightens up the face and makes the eyes pop! It can be worn during the day with light eye-makeup (i.e. just mascara), or at night with a more dramatic eyeshadow, for a stronger look.

Red lipstick has also been known to significantly make teeth look whiter and brighter. Yes, please! While I think red lipstick looks good on every skin tone and hair color, it’s important to find the right shade of red for you. There’s classic red, pink-red (my personal fav), deep red, plum red, etc. Don’t be afraid to try out different shades of red to find the right one for you!

By Laura Chouette on Unsplash

My go-to brand of red lipstick? While I’ve worn many different types and love many different brands, I have found this DRUGSTORE brand to be my fav! It’s called Milani and it can be found at Walgreens, Rite Aid, CVS, Target, Ulta, and others. It’s also avaialble on their website.

Below is a link to Red Label, their classic shade of red, at Target. $4.99! Can I get an amen?!

I wear red lipstick to red carpet events AND to the grocery store. I love running out the door to a workout in leggings and a tank, no makeup, and red lipstick. I’ve also found red lipstick to give me a pop of put-togetherness when travelling.

At a red carpet event in NYC wearing a dark-red lipstick.
Red lipstick on a bike ride (I love a good selfie)!

Wearing a pink-red lipstick at the airport (enroute to Paris)!

Taking a quick mirror selfie (no shame in my game!) while shooting a commercial, wearing a mauve-red lip.

When I wear red lipstick, I feel beautiful and confident, and I engage with the world from a place of openness and worthiness. Red lipstick brings out my inner lioness, my loving self, and my sexy self. My best self.

Don’t get me wrong, I am a firm believer that confidence is an INSIDE JOB. I think that “thing” that makes people turn their heads to look in your direction cannot be purchased or fabricated. It’s an inner sense of self-acceptance and love. However, I also think that sometimes what you wear on the outside affects how you feel on the inside! I once heard someone say, “You can dress how you feel or feel how you dress.” I think this is true of red lipstick. In 2016, Readers Digest published an article about how clothes can affect your emotional state of being, and can make you feel powerful, smarter, make you exercise harder, focus better, etc*. This principle, the external affecting the internal state of being, has been my experience with red lipstick. Sometimes, putting the satin rouge on your lips can remind you just how awesome, beautiful, and valuable you are. It’s like a way of telling the world, “Here I am. Ready to bring my best self to this day, ready to receive all the good things coming my way.”

Hello, world. I am ready and deserving of good things!

*https://www.rd.com/list/clothes-affect-mood/

how to
2

About the Creator

Chelsea Spack

I love life!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.