Motivation logo

Tarot and Oblique Strategies As Writing Prompts

A Working Example of My Creative Process

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 4 min read
6

Introduction

I have written about this before but find it is always good to revisit things because you may uncover new ideas.

While I am lucky enough to find inspiration from many sources, one of my greatest is in conversations with Vocal and Facebook friends. They don’t have to give me ideas, just talk about anything. It might be the weather or a TV show or what they had to eat or how good or bad work was.

That can start the creative flow going for me.

Essentially this article is going to be driven by Oblique Strategies and one of my Tarot decks, my Occult Tarot which a friend gave to me. So what we have is me writing about my method of creation while demonstrating it in how I have constructed this article So here we go.

Valefor

Tarot - 4 of Pentacles - Valefor

“Tempts Thieves To Steal, Serves As An Excellent Familiar”

From this, I would say we should never plagiarise, but that does not mean you should not be influenced by other creators. Two of my favourite authors are Michael Moorcock and Clive Barker and I continually read their stories and will weave snippets of their tales into some of mine, either to kick off a story or make it a more sturdy story for my audience.

Also, it is always good to have someone who can look over your work and offer you useful constructive criticism or confirmation that you are on the right path

Do Both

Oblique Strategies - Faced with a choice, do both

Often we do get in a quandary when we wonder which direction to take, should we write a story or a poem, and whether it should be a sonnet or a limerick. Oblique Strategies has suggested we do both, so make a start on multiple creations and eventually, the correct choice may manifest itself.

It may not but you will have put down several ideas that will further new creations for you.

Amon

Tarot - 2 of Pentacles - Amon

“Reveals the past and the future. Reconciles friends and enemies”

The future is what we are going to create and the past contains so many stories that we can weave into our new creations because they are ours. Friends are better to have than enemies and it is always best to reconcile with people you disagree with or have fallen out with because then you can work as a team, and start to build even more impressive works together.

Wars destroy. Working together builds.

Two Sides

Oblique Strategies - A line has two sides

If you are hit with a problem try and look at it in a different way. The phrase “A line has two sides” to me means there is a top and bottom, or a left and right, these are all ways of looking at a problem differently.

This is the path to take when you hit a creative brick wall. Refer back to asking a friend or collaborator, they will often see things differently than you do.

I always apply this in testing systems. If you write it you know what you are expecting to come out of it, but others don’t because they are not in your head, so are likely to spot any faults in the system.

Glasya-Labolas

Tarot - 7 of Wands - Glasya-Labolas

“Causes murder and bloodshed. Tells of things to come. Causes the love of friends or enemies. Can make one invisible”

When you create people will ignore or dislike your work, but far more will love and eulogise it. The things to come, again are what you are going to create, and are likely to enhance the love of friends and maybe even get you some love from those that don’t like you. Of course while you are creating, effectively you will be invisible because you are in your own world.

Occult Tarot

Conclusion

While this piece really tells you nothing for definite I hope it has given you at least one idea, and this has been created prompted by a tarot deck and Oblique Strategies which you can use here

advicegoalshow tosuccess
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsMariannDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    I guess I needed to read this more than I realized. I'd forgotten my roots in the fantasy genre and just seeing Michael Moorcock's name brought so much flooding back. These ideas are VERY useful and on point. Thank you for sharing this with me! By far the BEST advice I've gotten so far. I am about to embark on a 4-day weekend so I'll be availing myself of these and trying to get the second book in my series finished. THANK YOU!

  • Erica Wagnerabout a year ago

    I love that there's "nothing definite" in this piece; rather, it strives to create options and choices for other creators, strategies for our work. Thank you!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.