Motivation logo

Sunshine of the family

Imagination is the foil that brings dreams to life

By Pramitha SilvaPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Like

Life was hard…. happiness was limited…but my dreams kept me alive. My parents were farmers. I was the eldest child in the family, and I have three 3 sisters and 3 brothers. My father was sick. My responsibilities were above my head.

We lived in a very small village far away from the city side. Our house was not in the best condition, it was not even tiled or painted as luxurious houses. I went to a small school, where there were only 200 students in total. My mom was a strong woman who did her best to keep her children happy. She never kept us hungry. I didn’t have lots of clothes or shoes, just one pair of shoes and one pair of uniform, didn’t have hundreds of books, had only one book and pen. Even though some people may think this is not real, this the bitter truth of my life. After school, I go to the farm to help her with her work and returns home at midnight. Life was not easy, I had my middle school exams and failed two subjects. While repeating these two subjects I started to prepare for my high school final year exam, I had to take three subjects for my finals but there were only teachers for two subjects to teach us in school so I had to go for tuition class to cover up the syllabus and do the exam, but my parents couldn’t afford that so… I started to sell fruits near the bus stand after school. My sisters also helped me with this as they can. They used to pick fruits for me while I was in school. There was only one bus to return home…After selling the fruits, I had to wait for the bus, until then I used to study at the bus stand, and it was already midnight when I return home. As I was too tired, I always ended up going to school a little bit late. However, with the support of my teachers and the motivation of my mom gave me the courage to pass my high school exam with flying colors and I was able to enter the best university in my country.

Since I needed some pocket my and some new clothes for me to go to the university. I thought to continue mt small business (selling fruits). After I entered university, the university, cost of my daily expenses increased as I was living in the city. So… meanwhile I started to give tuition for high school students to cover my daily expenses, with that money I managed to send some money to my family too. In a blink of an eye, it was already the time for my graduation. With all the hardships I was able to graduate and became a lawyer. I used to send all the income I earned from my job to my family as my parents are weak and my siblings were still doing their studies in school.

I’m grateful towards my family… I always felt happy that I could do something for my family. They always used to be by my side and supported me with everything. With the blessings of my mom and my financial support, my siblings completed their studies very well, my two sisters became lawyers, one brother became a doctor, other sister became a nurse, and the other two brothers became engineers. I’m proud of my siblings. They never let the sacrifice I’ve done for them go in vain.

I managed to marry at the age of 38, after all these hardships came to an end. I didn’t have a house, as I couldn’t save any money since I supported my family, but my siblings bought me a luxurious house as my wedding gift as they knew I spent all my money for the sake of their education. Passion and sacrifice took me to my goals. In the end we all were able to become successful individuals in this society.

successhealinghappinessgoals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.