Motivation logo

Stop Living in Lies and Start Living in Truth

Sometimes we get stuck in really bad situations and we try maintaining hope that it’ll be alright. An abusive relationship loveless marriage,a sucky ass job, whatever it is. We make excuses for it over and over and over again. Knowing that nothing’s gonna change or get better no matter how many lies we tell. I know,I’ve been there before. Lying about something and someone that I know is hurting me and my heart, but still trying to hang on in hopes it’ll get right. But, is living in a lie or lies worth not living in truth? Is it worth giving up on yourself and your happiness? Is it worth the sacrifice of the life you want and dream of having one day? No.

By Shania ThompsonPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Stop Living in Lies and Start Living in Truth
Photo by Johnathan Kaufman on Unsplash

Let me ask you all something. What good is living in a lie? You become unhappy, you get stuck,your hoping of things getting better begins to wear. We all know problems, the lies,the deceit and the ACTUAL truth of it all. But,why is it that we still hang on? For the kids? To prove our families wrong? Afraid of leaving because you feel like you’ll have nothing and nobody? My thing is that if you’re unhappy with something,why stick around? You know it’s not gonna get better. You know it’s not worth being hurt and left broken hearted all the time. You know you don’t want your kids (if you have any) to grow up thinking it’s ok to let people treat you the way you’re being treated. I know, I’ve lived through it. I’ve been there. That’s why I’ve chosen to speak my mind,whatever bothers me, and not let anything or anyone run me over or take that away from me. Someone once took that away from me. Spent half of my life in fear and it was all too close for comfort being around it so much. Now,I’m not so blind and I’m not for the bs anymore. I’ve chosen to live in truth and that’s how I want to stay. No more lies, no more excuses, no more “it’s ok” or “everything’s good. I’m good.”. I’m getting older and I’ve had enough with the bs. I got out of that lifestyle a loooooooong time ago and I’m not going back. I’m not living another moment in a lie or being lied to all the time. I won’t do it. That is why I want to tel you all to stop living in lies and start living in truth. Open your eyes. Start thinking about the life you want for once. What’s right for you. What makes you happy and does it make you happy. Forget the lies,start aiming and wanting the truth. To yourself. To the life you want. Fulfill your dreams and desires without shame or guilt,even when others try to put that on you. You know that the life your living right now isn’t the one you want to live forever. So why even waste the time living it. Because when it comes to time,it’s very valuable. And life is too short to waste it being in a place where you feel endangered,depressed,unhappy and unsafe. We all can’t spend the rest of our lives trapped in a cage full of misery when there’s a life full of sunny days and sunshine out there for you. But,first,you have to stop lying to yourself. Because you know who you are and you know that you do not deserve the treatment you get right now. You are more worthy and beautiful than you already know. You know the dreams and life that you want do not require how you’re living right now. You know they don’t require the people that try to take it away from you out of spite. You know you don’t need that kind of shit in your life. And you know you don’t have to put up with it. Let me give you a little tip my friend told me to do. Take a notebook,write down all your goals,dreams and achievements you want to accomplish to get the life you want. And,then,write down everything that stops you from those accomplishments. It can be anything,don’t be afraid. It’s just you, a notebook and a pen (or pens). Afterwards,compare the two and think about what you need to do to get to where you want to be. That’s one of the first steps towards living in truth. Next step,take some time to yourself. Chill at home all day,take a walk. Do anything to help clear your mind and think about who you want to be. You can become anything and everything you want to be regardless of who or what’s around in your life. Just take a minute and think about you for once. Third step,remove the things that stop you from doing the things you want,especially on your free time. If there’s anything that shouldn’t be taken away from you, your me time and your rights to go places is one of them. Let no one dictate what you can do,what’ you can’t do,where you can go.....let no one have that kind of control over you. EVER. Take my advice. Do all of this,and I promise you you’ll be much happier. It may take a while to be happier,but time to heal is always great. Because the outcome will be better than you think it is now. ☺️

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Shania Thompson

I love to sing,dance,act and I enjoy being free and being myself in life. No one should feel cooped up or trapped in life. When life gives you lemons,you can let them be lemons or make lemonade. And I choose lemonade. ☺️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.